We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locally Owned and Loved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buzz's Wharf Restaurant - CLOSED

Buzz's Wharf Restaurant
Maalaea Small Boat Harbor, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
+1 808-244-5426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ma'alaea Small Boat Harbor
Transit: Buzz's Wharf Restaurant is just a 1 minute walk from the Ma'alaea Harbor Village bus stop. Buses from all over Maui (Wailuku, Lahaina and Kihei) stop at Ma'alaea Harbor every hour.
Description: Established in 1967 In 1967, Jerry & Eileen Macdonald opened Buzz's Wharf Restaurant in the Ma'alaea Small Boat Harbor, where it still stands today. They shared 30 successful years in the restaurant business on Maui and Honolulu. In 1993, the Macdonald's retired and the next generation took over. The American Cuisine with an Island flavor continues on. Mrs. Macdonald's French Tahitian roots contributed to many of the unique menu items. Their signatures dish the " Prawns Tahitian" being the most popular.Buzz's Wharf Restaurant recently celebrated 45 years of operation, and is one of Maui's Long Standing restaurants. As a landmark in Ma'alaea Bay Harbor, Buzz's continues, year after year, to greet and extend their ho'okipa (hospitality) to both newcomers and their loyal local and visitor clientele. Our ocean front dining room offers panoramic views of the harbor, Mt. Haleakala and the southern coastline of Maui which only serve to enhance your dining experience.
Michigander
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Locally Owned and Loved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had a very nice dinner here and the setting and history of the place comes through. Menu could be more clearly written about what dinners include. Great locally accessed shrimp dishes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    76
    65
    42
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great prawns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have eaten there for the past 15 years. We usually eat there once when we land once in the middle of the vacation and just before we return the rental car. The Sweet Prawns Tahitian are the best thing you will ever eat. We always order extra prawns. We have sent over 14 different couples there and everybody agrees. We have even ordered some for home. The waitstaff are usually very good and very busy. The airconditioning wasn't on in the afternoon like it usually is, but we managed. The price is getting up there. If it continues too much higher we guess we will just have to cut our visits down to twice. Easy to get to and still worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Save your money and time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Two of us had lunch here today. Horrible disappointment. We don't know which was worse...the food or the service. We knew it was pricey so that was not a surprise. We each had Cesar salad one with fish, other with chicken and I has a cup of shrimp bisque. Bisque was barely warm, chicken way over-cooked and fish barely warm. The salad greens were not fresh..half turning color. The service was painfully slow, yet the restaurant was not near capacity. This is our third year holidaying in Maui and this was by far the worst meal and and service we have had to date. We will not return and we will not recommend this eatery. The music was so loud it was difficult to enjoy a conversation with my companion. The only positive was the cheery hostess. My recommendation - spend your time and money some place else!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever! Hands Down! No Kidding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

With family on Maui, we get to the island quite regularly (usually twice yearly). And the last few times we've always found that Buzz's Wharf (in the Ma`alaea Harbor area) has had great food. But this time we were so happy we had to go back on our last night for one more serving. Wife is in love with the Sweet Prawns Tahitian, their specialty. When she walks in and sits down without looking at the menu the server immediately knows she wants the prawns. The prawns are sweet prawns from New Caledonia, butterflied and baked in the shell w/ dry vermouth, dill & parmesan cheese. Just describing it makes my mouth water, and although I've enjoyed the prawns as well, I've fixated on the Misoyaki Walu, a marinated butterfish sautéed topped with crispy onions & shitake mushroom chips. Every bite was one of those "Mmmmmmm" moments. Garlic mashed potatos, veggies, and really scrumptious rolls helped out. They used to have a terrific dessert but have taken it off the menu since our last visit, so I can't help out on desserts. Dinners might be considered pricey ($29 for the prawns and $29 for the walu), but that's pretty much common for Maui. You'd probably pay as much or more at Duke's or the Hula Grill or Leilani's. The prawns (but not the walu) are on the luncheon menu for a few dollars less. Check out the local touristy magazines for coupons: we've found 10% and 15% off coupons in them and always use them. Call for a reservation though as it gets busy at night. Window tables are nice if you want to watch the harbor boats but it can get chilly since they leave the windows open often (although "chilly" is a relative term on Maui). Oh, and the keiki (kids) eat free off the keiki menu, which is no small feat for a major Maui restaurant like this. We had the same server on both our trips this time and she recognized us right off. Very friendly and super helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Watch the whales while enjoying an excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was not my first visit to buzz's, but in every visit in the past (always in late January), I have experienced the same great food, great service, and the bonus of watching whales breaching just off shore from the restaurant. Be sure to make advance reservations, and to request a window table. Dine at 5:30, in order to have enough daylight to watch for whales. The specialty at Buzz's is their large Tahitian prawns. A wide selection of seafood and steaks provide a very nice rounded menu. Discount coupons for 15 percent can be found in a few advertising books, while others feature a 10 percent discount. Prices are typical of any Maui fine dining establishment, but with a coupon, you can enjoy a first class meal for under a 100 bill. Buzz,s won't disappoint.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzz's Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzz's Wharf Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.