We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Thai in Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saeng's Thai Cuisine

Saeng's Thai Cuisine
2119 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1697
808-244-1567
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 78 Restaurants in Wailuku
Price range: $14 - $14
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
630 reviews 630 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Favorite Thai in Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We visit this place year after year when in Maui. Casual, generous portions, great flavors and always a hit with friends. On our last visit we had green curry with chicken and Panang curry with chicken! We usually have more of a variety, but there were just two of us on a curry mission! We will be back!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haiku, Hawaii
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“relaxing place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

if you are not in a rush ....this is a good place to eat.....the food is always good....i love the seafood soup....and everything is made to order.....peaceful setting...semi outdoors...service in slow but the food is very tasty

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“perfect place for a backpacker to have real food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

the staff were friendly, the place is quiet and the best spot to have cooked food after 11 days of outdoor. I had the tom yum soup and fried bananas with ice cream. More than once. So I'd recommend to eat here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukalani, Maui
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I came here to try a different Thai restaurant and out of the ones in Kahului, Kihei, and Lahaina, this one is the worst. While the prices are about the same as the others, the food here is poor. The pad thai had no flavor, was soupy, and didn't have any spiciness to it. The staff, while nice, disappeared at times and never checked on me to see if I had everything I needed. Couldn't get a refill on my water until I asked for my check. If you want good Thai food, this isn't the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Atmosphere + Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I really love this place. It's such a nice environment to sit and eat. It makes me feel like I'm in Asia, and it's rarely busy. Sometimes is just me and my date. The Food is delicious and served piping hot. Just be careful not to spill it on your lap like I did. My leg was red for days:( That said, this is the bomb:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saeng's Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Saeng's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saeng's Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.