We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saeng's Thai Cuisine

Saeng's Thai Cuisine
2119 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1697
808-244-1567
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 76 Restaurants in Wailuku
Price range: $14 - $14
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

i often crave for a BIG salad when i travel, and that's usually difficult to obtain in most resturants. But if you order a green papaya salad, you (I) will be satisfied. By the way, the salad is yummy!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nice place, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We arrived about 7:00 on a Saturday and the place was pretty full. The one waiter was very busy, but greeted us immediately and sat us quickly. It took a bit to take our order, but it was served quickly. We got the Garlic Vegetables and Mahi Mahi Curry. Both were excellent and quite reasonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ambiance a 5, food a 3”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Excellent ambiance - felt very southeast Asian. But food pretty ordinary. Since our expectations were very high, we were disappointed. Might go back, but would try elsewhere first.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Thai with surprising outdoor setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had a nice dinner here on a quiet weeknight (total of four guests), food was very good, the outside (covered) seating is very nice and rather unexpected when walking up to the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a mess!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We ate at Saeng's years ago and were looking forward to some spicy, tasty Thai food. It was on a Sunday evening and there was only one person to greet, take orders, serve and clear tables.

The food was prompt, but over-sized tasteless portions and we were surrounded by several uncleared tables throughout our time there. Altogether a very disappointing and dreary meal.

Recommend avoiding this place!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saeng's Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Saeng's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saeng's Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.