We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Mart & Deli Incorporated

Tradewinds Mart & Deli Incorporated
20 Hauoli St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-9502
808-242-9161
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 82 Restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Mesquite, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

They are located on the bottom floor of the first condo building next to the Ma'alaea Harbor. It is a little convenience store that also serves deli sandwiches, a daily lunch special, and killer (in a good way) chili dogs. The owners are so friendly and helpful.
We stop there after the morning whale watch trips to have either a chili dog with cheese and onions (one is enough to feed my wife and I) with a nice cold beer or one of their daily lunch specials which rotate between chicken adobo (made with thighs), yellow curry chicken, red curry chicken, Korean chicken, and a couple of others we have not tried. They are all great and very reasonably priced - this is where most of the workers at the retail shops at the Ma'alaea Harbor shops and the boat crews come to get their food.
They also have great local papayas and bananas priced better than Safeway or Whole Foods in Kahului.
Probably ate there every second or third day while we were in Ma'alaea. It is the best local-knowledge place in Ma'alaea!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient place to pick up last minute items such as fresh fruit, vegestables and cold beer. They have adobo chicken (delicious) or sandwiches to go

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“a true "mom&pop"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The owners are so friendly and helpful to visitors! Try their great sandwiches to take to the beach. Also, for true local flavor we had their breakfast fried rice with eggs and meats on the morning we left our condo. Local farmers drop off a little bit of everything including gigantic buttery avocado and ready-to-eat papayas which we ate EVERY DAY. Everything from beer to band-aids.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location for Maalaea residents and visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Tradewinds Deli is a real gem, located just a step away from the busy Maalaea Harbor. They have a nice selection of convenience items, and they make a great pastrami and Swiss cheese sandwich! Definitely worth a stop when you are getting off a boat tour or just driving near Maalaea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is just great! We stayed in the condo next door and when we needed laundry detergent, papayas and a few extra potatoes (from Kula no less) they had what we needed. They are a convenience store, not a grocery or restaurant. This place gets a ton of foot traffic and the owners are very nice and more than accommodating. They were helpful with local information and they did make a profit but certainly didn't gouge on their prices. I was grateful for being able to walk over to Tradewinds and get what I needed as well as basking in their Aloha spirit. Speaking of spirits....they have darn near everything you would want, and then some!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tradewinds Mart & Deli Incorporated also viewed

 
Wailuku, Maui
 

Been to Tradewinds Mart & Deli Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Mart & Deli Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.