We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Scrumptious Noodle Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Sato's Incorporated

Sam Sato's Incorporated
1750 Wili Pa Loop, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1288
808-244-7124
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 76 Restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: Bakery, Hamburgers, Noodle, Noodle Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Truly Scrumptious Noodle Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

After a morning walk in the Iao Valley State Park, we ate lunch at Sam Sato's. The restaurant is located close to the state park in Wailuku. My fourteen year old daughter recommended this restaurant based solely on tripadvisor reviews. It proved to be a real tasty treat. Since the restaurant is only open from 9 AM until 2 PM, lunch is your only option. The cuisine is primarily noodle dishes; all of which are delicious. We especially enjoyed the Chow Fun. The prices are very reasonable for Maui. It appears to be a local favorite. Be prepared to wait in line outside if you arrive after 1130 AM. They turn the tables quickly so the wait was not that long. We waited about 15 minutes. It is worth the wait!! Make sure you purchase a variety of thier homemade turnovers on the way out (approximately six different types). You will want to come back from more . . . we did.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tasty Noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We ate lunch at Sam Sato's and it proved to be a real treat. Since they are only open from 9 AM until 2 PM, lunch is your only option. All the noodle dishes were quite tasty. We especially enjoyed the Chow Fun. The prices are very reasonable for Maui. It appears to be a local favorite. Therefore, prepared to wait in line outside if you come after 1130 AM. They turn the tables quickly so the wait was not that long. We waited about 15 minutes. It is worth the wait!! Make sure you purchase a variety of thier homemade turnovers on the way out (approximately six different types). You will want to come back from more . . . we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Excellent hole in the wall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Eating at Sam Santos was a highlight of our vacation in Maui. The food was terrific!!! Everything was very flavorful with large portions. We ordered all four noodle preparation styles and the chow fun was the best although everything was excellent. I would also recommend the teriyaki beef it is absolutely mouth watering. To top off this delicious lunch we took the turnovers to go and landed up going back the next day to pick up more!! They are very yummy especially the blueberry. The atmosphere at Sam Santos is definitely far from the resort setting with a lot of cramped tables and running waitresses, but the staff was friendly and our lunch was incredible!! Definitely not a place to miss.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the dry mein”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Love love love the dry mein! This has always been my favorite since coming with my dad after a day at the beach! YUM!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great eats at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

After a week of fancy resort dining, we finally asked our waiter at one of these resorts for "local dining" recommendations. Sam Satos was one of those. We ended up trying several of his recommendations, with Sam Satos being the last one before heading to the airport. For those who put food above ambiance, presentation, fancy drinks, etc. this little gem of a restaurant is more satisfying than those resort style dining spots. We had their saimin noodle soups and all of us loved it. Simple food, great taste, super satisfying... the most expensive dish was at $8.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Sato's Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Sam Sato's Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Sato's Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.