We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy yummy noodles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Sato's Incorporated

Sam Sato's Incorporated
1750 Wili Pa Loop, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1288
808-244-7124
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 81 Restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: Bakery, Hamburgers, Noodle, Noodle Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Sunny California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Grabbed lunch here with my daughter-in-law and grandaughter that live on the island. When I said I wanted to go to a local place that they enjoyed, this was where they took me. I think the place is packed from open to close (only open for breakfast and lunch) and we had a short wait. The noodles were 'the bong'!! They also have some local pastries, particularly the one made with ground lima bean paste...is WAY yummy (they did not tell me what it was before I devoured it). I would definately recommend this place!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
From Contra Costa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Ate here on our way back to the airport. I asked my local friends where they eat when they go out and this was one of the places they named. Nothing fancy here as it is located in an industrial park area. The dining room looks like it would have looked 50 years ago - a counter that seats 7 and about 12 plain tables and chairs. The specialty here is noodles - dry (like chow mein) and saimin (soup). The dry was very tasty. The saimin noodles a little undercooked. But lots of quantity at cheap prices. Be prepared to wait a little bit during lunch times as there was a line that moves slow since the dining room is small.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“"Ono grinds" at Sam Sato's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

After reading about Sam Sato's prior to our trip to Maui, we decided that we had to sample their fare... It took a bit of effort to find the place (it's located in a business park-type complex -- we'd recommend using your phone's map function to assist). There were lots of people waiting for a table, and to-go orders were flowing out in abundance... The presence of many locals convinced us to wait until we could be seated, and we were very glad that we did (!), because the food was really tasty, well-priced, and wonderfully "ono" too! Their famous "dry" noodles (broth separate) were served in large portions that were avidly consumed by our family -- very yummy indeed! Service was very friendly and efficient too! Don't forget to try their marinated & grilled yakitori items, and be sure to take some of their yummy Japanese-style pastries with you... Can't wait to go back to Maui and eat at Sam Sato's again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great local eats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

You've got to try their famous dry noodles (dry mein), they're great. Our second choice is the Saimin. There local 'kin plate lunches are huge! Soto's has been around for many, many years but this is a fairly new location for them. Everything is new and clean. The servers are very helpful and friendly.

Also try Sam Sato's Azuki Bean Manju, only 75¢

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Local food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Came here after reading about this restaurant in the April edition of Maui No Ka Oi magazine, which had a write-up of noodle restaurants. This is truly a locals spot,and it is hidden in a semi-industrial area of Wailuku.
- the won ton min has a great broth and tasty noodles; the won ton themselves are not too flavorful and overlooked
- their famous dry noodles were ok, but not so spectacular that I'd return for just that dish again.
- the beef and chicken skewers were very good and I recommend them.
- what is really a nice treat is the pineapple turnover- I almost ordered extra to go.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Sato's Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Sam Sato's Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Sato's Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.