We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yum yum yum comfort food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Sato's Incorporated

Sam Sato's Incorporated
1750 Wili Pa Loop, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1288
808-244-7124
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 75 restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: Bakery, Hamburgers, Noodle, Noodle Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“yum yum yum comfort food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Never ever disappoints. Local favorite. It is packed for a reason. I always get the same thing and is the first place i head to from the airport.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    35
    26
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Dry saimin?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love the Asian saimin soup in Hawaii. But we had never had it dry before. Our server was extremely helpful and explained that it was all the ingredients in a bowl with the broth on the side so you could add as much or as little as you wish. The noodles were great, very flavourful with a great somewhat chewy texture, more al dente!

We love the more local restaurants and found them to be very helpful and welcoming. We also tried the Manju on the cashiers recommendation that are like a cookie filled with a bean paste. As a kid I hated Lima beans, Too bad I never had these then as they are filled with a sweet Lima bean paste that is delicious.

A little tricky to find, just off mill street directly behind tasty crust but with far better saimin!

We had to wait but was worth it. Only open until 2pm!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The wait is worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After landing in Kahului we drove straight here for lunch. We had a large party of 11 so I was worried that the wait would be long. We were pleasantly surprised that they offered us the outdoor room complete with a fan! It's a very small hole-in-the-wall shop, but service is fast. the waitress was fantastic and very patient with us. Although we arrived 30 minutes prior to closing (1:30) she assured us that as long as we ordered by 2:00 we would be taken care of. They are known for their dry min (noodles) and it's a must! The broth comes separate and you must add on a teriyaki stick! One of the best I've had! It's very inexpensive and worth every penny. Be sure to try their manju and turnovers.
Tip: they close at 2:00 so come early. There are 2 parking lots that fill up quickly but there is plenty of street parking. Order your manju and turnovers prior to leaving so that you can quickly pick it up before you leave Maui.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcal
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Worth the trip into Wailuku to find....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This has become a regular stop for us.
It is a little out of the way for most visitors, but many locals eat here.
Not fancy, but clean and almost always busy.
The waitresses are friendly and helpful....
Open Monday to Saturday, 7AM to 2PM and closed Sundays.
The dry noodles are flavorful and have a different texture than the usual saimin.... the broth is added as needed. My only concern was the char siu had a little more fat in it than I like, so I had to pick some of the fat off off.... but the flavor and texture is ONO!!!
We also order the BBQ chicken and beef sticks.... both are very flavorful and worth a try.
The manju is very good as are the turnovers.
We usually eat here at least once per trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local Mom and Pop at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of kind, great tasting manju. Wonderful local menu. Friendly staff. Do you self a favor, eat there and become a regular.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Sato's Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Sam Sato's Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Sato's Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.