We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Cafe a

Saigon Cafe a
1792 Main St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
808-243-9560
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Curzay-sur-Vonne, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I have come to Vietnam several times, and tried Pho from Hanoi to Saigon. The restaurant had definitely different ingredient, I felt like it lost traditional taste. Although their food had nice and well presentation, it wasn’t delicious and tasty as I expected. However, the staffs were friendly, pleasant; the restaurant location was great with beautiful desgin. They were only two things I could quiet feel acceptable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    10
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Roaches”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Had lunch there yesterday. I had the mahi-mahi in black bean sauce. Good fish but incredibly salty. My wife had the tofu and vegetables with crispy noodles. Surprise ingredient was a cockroach. The waiter comped her meal. The kitchen was dirty as were the restrooms. We will not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“YUMMMY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Had lunch at this place before our flight back home and we were so happy we made it here. Their vegetarian dishes are good and we also took food for the flight.
Their Vietnamese coffee is the best!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Funny Quirky host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Food was top notch Vietnamese. The owner takes your order and makes you laugh. Especially if someone in your group is gullible.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must visit in Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Everyone says you have to visit Mama's Fish House in Maui. Been there done that. Great sea food but it's sea food. You want to eat like Anthony Bourdain and try something authentic and delicious then you have to go to A Saigon Café in Wailuku. It's a few miles from the airport in Kahului. The first time we went, we were amazed that it was even in business. It barely has a sign on it and it's not easy to find. It's not a fancy place. It's more of a joint. But the locals will tell you it's the place for great food at a great price. We sat down and our waiter who was a bit of a jokester refused our order and ordered a meal for us. I was a bit surprised. He ordered one of the most expensive dishes on his menu, the grilled fish with black bean sauce. Now, I was never a fan of eating grilled fish but this was fantastic. I couldn't get enough. That was 6 years ago. We had the chance to go back to A Saigon Café this year, and our waiter was still there. He's still a character. We had the same fish and it was still delicious. Now the staff at the Four Seasons recommended that we get their shrimp dish. I wish I could remember the name. I think it was called the Garden Party Shrimp. Anyway, it's one of their specialties and they ask if you want it with the shell or without the shell. We were advised to get it with the shell which makes it crunchy. It was delicious. We love A Saigon Café. It's the best Vietnamese restaurant I've ever experienced in all my travels. It's definitely worth a visit and the price is very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Cafe a also viewed

 

Been to Saigon Cafe a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Cafe a, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.