We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great salmon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Cafe a

Saigon Cafe a
1792 Main St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
808-243-9560
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great salmon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had most pleasant and helpful service. The night we visited they recommended a steamed salmon with vegetables that is one of the best we have ever tasted. A very generous portion of salmon for a very reasonable price with loads of vegey! We found the clay hot pot a little dry but the summer salad rolls were great with fresh mint. A little tricky to find, you can see it from the Main Street but have to make a series of right turns from central avenue to backtrack to it. Well worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    10
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morehead, KY
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Vietnamese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Have been eating at this restaurant for many, many years and are always happy with the food, service and atmosphere. Truly a gem on Maui, but at little difficult to find. Mostly locals and always good-natured abuse from the staff. Recommend it highly and don't be turned off by location or exterior.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Geat place for a nice bowl of noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you love Vietnamese style noodles served in a large and well-stocked bowl of goodies at a price you can relax with, this is the place.
The waiter's a card, the atmosphere is good, the menu is large.
Let's go!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Wonderful vietnamese food, zagat rated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our extended family of 8 stumbled across the Saigon Cafe and were glad we did. The menu was extensive and offered fantastic soups, noodles and hot pots. Everyone loved it and the plates were perfect for sharing. It was a bit tricky to find since there is no sign on the building but the locals clearly know it well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibbenbueren, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“must go ! excellent food, and service plus great price !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We combined it with a visit to the local museum, baldwin museum, and have been eating here several korean dishes, all perfect and tasty ingredients cooked in a perfect way. Service was top notch, we loved it, mamas restaurant has the name, this restaurant has the taste. For me this is the number one !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Cafe a also viewed

 

Been to Saigon Cafe a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Cafe a, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.