We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a vacation home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wailuku Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wailuku Guesthouse to your Saves list
Wailuku Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   210 South Market Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
book 4 days get 10% off.
Ranked #2 of 3 Wailuku B&B and Inns
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like a vacation home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were in Wailuku in January 2013 with our toddler in the Wasabi room. Great studio with kitchen, great room size (we added a toddler bed), beach towels, all king of gear for swimming, snorkling... nice swimming pool area, great parrots! Maureen was always available for us even though she was away part of that week and was very professional and generous on dealing with a noise problems that we had on the first night.
Even though it is not on a beach, the location is actually very central and convenient wherever you want to go on the Island. The price is very fair compared to everything else you can find in Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Aloha Friends,

We are so glad we could accommodate you and your family. Sorry for that first night when you had the noisy guest in the room next to you. Every couple of years a nuisance guest lands with us. Unfortunately I was in LA for 2 days and my house sitter did not manage the problem very well. I was happy to make things right when I returned. Glad you enjoyed our central location as well as our fun free stuff to use while you explore the island. Hope the birds were able to entertain your little boy.

With Aloha,
Maureen
Owner
Wailuku Guesthouse
Maui, HI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    45
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
77
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was my second stay at the Wailuku Guesthouse and it was very relaxing and quiet. Arguably the best place to stay in Central Maui. The Hibiscus room was a little small, but cozy and located near the pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha,

We like to see our returning guests happy over and over and over again. Much Mahalo for the chance to accommodate you a second time.

With Aloha,
Maureen
Owner
The Wailuku Guesthouse
Maui, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Wailuku Guesthouse. Maureen was more than accomadating! We appreciated the beach towels, snorkel gear, beach chairs and coolers available for our use. There were four of us and the apt. was comfortable and suited our needs perfectly. Every afternoon, after a busy day, we enjoyed sitting around the pool. In the evenings we walked to many of the local places for dinner. We felt like we were enjoying the local cuisine. They were not fancy but the food was awesome and all a short, safe walk. If you don't want fancy, you can stay in Maui in comfort without it costing an arm and a leg!! We will go back here when we return.

Room Tip: Our apt. was two bedroom. We traveled with another couple so this was good. Nice sitting area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha

I really like to see that people understand that we offer lots of beach toys, have a great out door saltwater pool area, but are also affordable and clean. Glad to here you had a great time with us at The Wailuku Guesthouse here on Maui. I love my job.

With Aloha,
Maureen
Owner
The Wailuku Guesthouse
Maui,
Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our first time in Maui! We stayed for our first three days at Wailuku Guesthouse. I chose this place because of the price, good reviews, central location and straightforward information provided. We were impressed. We were greeted upon getting out of our car, and we also got a free upgrade because one of the larger rooms was available! We signed up for Hibiscus, got Wasabi, but both looked great, charming and comfortable. The Wasabi Room was really sweet though. Just spacious enough, good design, functional set-up. The bed was incredibly comfortable (felt like tempurpedic-style, and my insomniac sweetie even slept well). The grounds were spectacular: the pool was clean and inviting; the foliage was beautiful; the outdoor bbq/pool/lounging area is huge and welcoming. The hosts & neighbors were very friendly. Also, there is a lot of equipment for your use for free: guidebooks, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, snorkel gear, etc! It's in a fun neighborhood with a lot of options nearby. I am glad we spent the first part of our trip here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Aloha Liz,

We enjoyed your visit with us as well. Most people love that bed; good to hear you did as well. Also glad to know you enjoyed our common area. Our saltwater pool is the heart of our little world back in our garden. The waterfalls are calming and the warm saltwater is therapeutic. The birds enjoy when folks are out at the pool as they are always trying to get a "birds eye view" hahaha. Please tell your friends and family about us because word of mouth is still my best form of advertising. Have a wonderful Christmas and a safe and prosperous New Year.

With aloha,
Maureen
owner of the Wailuku Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very romantic place. Great for lovers. The room was very clean and very spacious. We enjoy the BBQ at Wailuku Guesthouse pool side. Maureen makes great homemade banana bread. Negative part was the room window faced carpool parking area, not too privacy when the guests pull into parking lot. The room was equipped with many guide books and shows location for various dinning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Aloha,

I'm sorry the view wasn't a little better. But I know you enjoyed the price. Thanks again for staying with us and agreeing that our rooms are very clean and filled with lots of fun stuff that are also free. The guide books are in all the rooms so people can navigate the island and even better all of our local restaurants with all their local and freshly grown produce. I'm also please that you were able to enjoy a dinner out at our BBQ and saltwater pool common area. Many people take advantage of cooking on the BBQ and enjoying a nice dinner at one of 3 of our dining tables along side our beautiful pool.

With aloha,
Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We got a great deal for wailuku guest house(wasabi room) for our 5 day vacation. If you arrive late make sure you have your directions right since you need to find your way to your room. It was little tricky for us but no big deal.The hostess had fresh banana bread waiting for us in the room with big aloha and all other information we needed to know. She also stopped by to say hello once we had settled in our room. The room had a fully equipped kitchenette and bathroom everything we needed. It was like staying at home. They also provide beach chairs, beach towels(the hostess gave us additional beach towels!), beach umbrellas. This was great deal and so convinent. The area was peaceful and quite. They have a pool too...but we didn't use it during our stay. All in all this is a good value for money. Also this place is centrally located for most of the attractions in maui and downtown wailuku area is in walking distance.
However my only problem with the wasabi room was that it had poor ventilation since the windows faced the carport(we could never open them). So if you want to stay back in the room and relax and enjoy a view then this is not the room for you.Since we were busy exploring the island we spent less time at the room so it bother us too much.I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms facing the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo!
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. We try really hard to provide clean affordable rooms for our guests. With this said, hopefully you had enough money to enjoy other adventures and a few great meals as well.

With Aloha,
Maureen and the Wailuku Guesthouse Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If marble-floored lobbies and impersonal resort luxury are your style, this won't quite work for you. But if you want a place that's like staying in a friend's home, with any needs or questions more than met, this is the ticket. "Clean and affordable" is the motto, and that is the story. You'll be based on a quiet residential street just off downtown Wailuku - a convenient location for heading in any direction on the island: Kihei/Lahaina, Hana, Haleakala... Fridge, microwave, internet access, free parking on the street, all makes life easy. Beach/snorkle supplies... guidebooks... Pleasant pool/patio area (with an aviary to visit!). Just be careful of the hard-to-resist baked goodies Maureen keeps coming up with! 8)

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wailuku Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailuku Guesthouse

Address: 210 South Market Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wailuku Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wailuku Guesthouse is a clean, affordable accommodation on the beautiful island of Maui. Centrally located with a saltwater pool with waterfalls, barbeque, cable TV and air conditioning,beach chairs, beach towels, snorkel gear, coolers for packing great lunches and chilly drinks and free use of the Maui Revealed Guide Book. The house dates back to the early 1900's as a plantation home. Then it was used as officer's quarter's in 1945. The current owners have done many renovations and the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. It offers free wi-fi and parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wailuku Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailuku Guesthouse Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailuku Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.