We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B at Wailuku Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wailuku Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Wailuku Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wailuku Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   210 South Market Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 3 Wailuku B&B and Inns
Kapolei, Hawaii
1 review
“B&B at Wailuku Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very romantic place. Great for lovers. The room was very clean and very spacious. We enjoy the BBQ at Wailuku Guesthouse pool side. Maureen makes great homemade banana bread. Negative part was the room window faced carpool parking area, not too privacy when the guests pull into parking lot. The room was equipped with many guide books and shows location for various dinning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Aloha,

I'm sorry the view wasn't a little better. But I know you enjoyed the price. Thanks again for staying with us and agreeing that our rooms are very clean and filled with lots of fun stuff that are also free. The guide books are in all the rooms so people can navigate the island and even better all of our local restaurants with all their local and freshly grown produce. I'm also please that you were able to enjoy a dinner out at our BBQ and saltwater pool common area. Many people take advantage of cooking on the BBQ and enjoying a nice dinner at one of 3 of our dining tables along side our beautiful pool.

With aloha,
Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    42
    9
    3
    8
See reviews for
21
72
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We got a great deal for wailuku guest house(wasabi room) for our 5 day vacation. If you arrive late make sure you have your directions right since you need to find your way to your room. It was little tricky for us but no big deal.The hostess had fresh banana bread waiting for us in the room with big aloha and all other information we needed to know. She also stopped by to say hello once we had settled in our room. The room had a fully equipped kitchenette and bathroom everything we needed. It was like staying at home. They also provide beach chairs, beach towels(the hostess gave us additional beach towels!), beach umbrellas. This was great deal and so convinent. The area was peaceful and quite. They have a pool too...but we didn't use it during our stay. All in all this is a good value for money. Also this place is centrally located for most of the attractions in maui and downtown wailuku area is in walking distance.
However my only problem with the wasabi room was that it had poor ventilation since the windows faced the carport(we could never open them). So if you want to stay back in the room and relax and enjoy a view then this is not the room for you.Since we were busy exploring the island we spent less time at the room so it bother us too much.I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms facing the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo!
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. We try really hard to provide clean affordable rooms for our guests. With this said, hopefully you had enough money to enjoy other adventures and a few great meals as well.

With Aloha,
Maureen and the Wailuku Guesthouse Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If marble-floored lobbies and impersonal resort luxury are your style, this won't quite work for you. But if you want a place that's like staying in a friend's home, with any needs or questions more than met, this is the ticket. "Clean and affordable" is the motto, and that is the story. You'll be based on a quiet residential street just off downtown Wailuku - a convenient location for heading in any direction on the island: Kihei/Lahaina, Hana, Haleakala... Fridge, microwave, internet access, free parking on the street, all makes life easy. Beach/snorkle supplies... guidebooks... Pleasant pool/patio area (with an aviary to visit!). Just be careful of the hard-to-resist baked goodies Maureen keeps coming up with! 8)

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was my second trip to Maui and loved staying at the guesthouse! Felt very safe, comfortable and in a perfect location! Maureen was very gracious- promptly answered my calls, and even brought me home-made banana bread- which I ate half of in 15 minutes. Great price! Can't beat it.

Room Tip: Stayed in the wasabi room-- all rooms look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
ALoha,

I'm so glad to see that your job brought you back home to Kauai and then to the outer islands. Sounds like the Wasabi suite was perfect for you and the bread went down easy too! Great place to work at selling swim wear. Hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo,
Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

My stay in the Wailuku guesthouse was absolutely perfect: the pool provided a secluded safe-haven from the hustle-and-bustle of Wailuku, and the quaint rooms (I stayed in the Mill room) were well lit, quiet and cozy. My host left freshly cut flowers, assortments of baked goods, fresh linens and soaps in my room every other day, and was always available to answer any questions I had. She was incredibly sweet and hospitable. I would highly recommend staying at the Wailuku guesthouse if you are traveling alone or with a parter, as it is most certainly a home away from home in one of the most beautiful places in the world, without the irritation of crowds, tourists and noise.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Comfortable, clean, reasonably priced guesthouse room. Gracious hostess, Maureen who was very helpful on our first visit to Wailuku in many years. Her self-baked fruit breads were a delicious treat and was a welcome desert with coffee after our arrival at the guesthouse. The guesthouse location in central Wailuku with convenient access to many activities, such as the Kahului Airport, shopping malls (Kaahumanu and Maui), restaurants, and reasonable driving times to Kahului, Makawao, Kihei, and Lahaina (10-30 minutes), is a good reason to stay at the Wailuku Guest House.

The well kept swimming pool looked inviting but we did not have the luxury of time to enjoy it during our short stay in June. We look forward to the salt water pool in a future visit.

The Hibuscus Room was small but quite comfortable and had many amenities including refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and a flat panel TV. An end table and lamp so that both sides of the bed could accommodate guests who like to read and perhaps enjoy a cup of coffee in bed would have been very nice. Also, a TV guide would be helpful for guests not accustomed to the TV schedules on Maui.

My wife and I truly would consider revisiting the Wailuku Guest House should we next return to Maui from Honolulu in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Aloha Kay,

We enjoyed your stay as well. It was nice chatting with your wife, we had a lot in common. We are located in a convenient location and are glad you were able to take advantage of that. I'm also very pleased that you enjoyed my bread. I try to use as much of my garden fruits as I can. We also keep our gardens organic by never using any kind of pest control. I really hope you can get into the saltwater pool with waterfalls next time too. It's a quick way to cool down and relax a bit. As a reminder, booking directly with me will save you money. I can usually discount the rooms for you and save myself from paying the search engines commissions. Looking forward to accommodating you, your friends and family in the future.

Mahalo nui loa,
Maureen
owner
The Wailuku Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Tx.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This gem in Maui is centrally located to shopping, not too far from the beach and has a great pool. Very friendly owners that will bend over backwards to be sure your stay in Maui is a great experience. For example, the wifi in our room would not work with our new laptop, so Doug just ran an ethernet cable down the hall and hooked us up. ( All the other devices would work in our so it wasn't the wifi) Try getting that type of service at the Hilton.
Maureen baked some fresh breads for the patrons a couple times during our stay. The room was very clean and adequate for our stay.
We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Maui.

Room Tip: Sorry, no fitness center if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wailuku Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailuku Guesthouse

Address: 210 South Market Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wailuku Guesthouse 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wailuku Guesthouse is a clean, affordable accommodation on the beautiful island of Maui. Centrally located with a saltwater pool with waterfalls, barbeque, cable TV and air conditioning,beach chairs, beach towels, snorkel gear, coolers for packing great lunches and chilly drinks and free use of the Maui Revealed Guide Book. The house dates back to the early 1900's as a plantation home. Then it was used as officer's quarter's in 1945. The current owners have done many renovations and the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. It offers free wi-fi and parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Wailuku Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailuku Guesthouse Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailuku Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.