We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italian/Mediterranean Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto

Porto
300 Maalaea Road, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96753
808-856-8337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 83 Restaurants in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Our NamePorto is the Italian word for “port” or “harbor.” We are located at Ma’alaea Harbor on the beautiful Hawaiian island of Maui.Our MissionAt Porto, we are artisans in pursuit of perfection, working to serve you real food that’s delicious and healthy. We start with fresh, all-natural and authentic ingredients of extraordinary flavor. We source fresh herbs, vegetables and fruits from local farmers, choosing organic whenever available, to support sustainable local agriculture and to deliver the tantalizing flavors of our islands to your palate.Pizza With a PurposeWe’re proud to save whales, dolphins and the oceans, one pizza at a time. All profits from Porto support Pacific Whale Foundation’s efforts to protect our oceans through science and advocacy.Porto is Now Open for Lunch & Dinner10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Restaurant details
Description: Our NamePorto is the Italian word for “port” or “harbor.” We are located at Ma’alaea Harbor on the beautiful Hawaiian island of Maui.Our MissionAt Porto, we are artisans in pursuit of perfection, working to serve you real food that’s delicious and healthy. We start with fresh, all-natural and authentic ingredients of extraordinary flavor. We source fresh herbs, vegetables and fruits from local farmers, choosing organic whenever available, to support sustainable local agriculture and to deliver the tantalizing flavors of our islands to your palate.Pizza With a PurposeWe’re proud to save whales, dolphins and the oceans, one pizza at a time. All profits from Porto support Pacific Whale Foundation’s efforts to protect our oceans through science and advocacy.Porto is Now Open for Lunch & Dinner10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian/Mediterranean Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stopped here for our last meal before heading to the airport and were very happy! The staff is incredibly friendly and the food delicious and reasonably priced. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    42
    13
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great artisan pizza using local ingredients!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was first visit, but won't be our last. Their pizza crusts are thin, crispy and delicious! I appreciate that they use local veggies and goat cheese. The fact the the profits go to the Pacific Whale Foundation, is the icing on the cake. Where else can you eat great pizza, support local farmers AND support a wonderful organization?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Pizza at a pleasant restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I searched out Porto on a night we wanted something light, and reasonably priced, to eat (Dining in Maui can be expensive). We picked Porto because of the excellent reviews. It was difficult finding the restaurant although we had punched in the address on our Garmin; however, we're glad we eventually found it as we had an enjoyable dinner (we drove around the aquarium block twice before we located the restaurant; it's in the aquarium mall, in the back, out of site).

The restaurant was nearly empty at 7:00 pm on a week night. They serve at tables inside and outside. The restaurant was very clean with a contemporary decor. Most the tables were 'high top' with 'high top' chairs. My wife generally doesn't like the high top tables; but, was pleasantly surprised that the table and chair were very comfortable; the chairs had thick cushions. By the time we left the restaurant most inside tables, and a couple of outside tables, were taken (there were trades that night and the wind was pretty brisk outside).

We ordered Caesar salads that were cold, fresh and delicious. I don't recall the name of the pizza we ordered but it had their signature chicken meatballs on it; they were delicious, and made for a winning pizza.

Overall we had a pleasant and enjoyable experience at the Porto. The service was friendly. And we will return to Porto when we visit Maui again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We accidentally ate here. We did the wild side molokini snorkling trip and the propane on the truck ran out. I got a delicious vegetable pizza and my boyfriend got an awesome BBQ chicken pizza. So so yummy! Wish I had a chance to eat there again before I left!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent artisan pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Every time we stay in Maalaea, which is twice a year minimum, we eat at Porto. Excellent flavor, great crust. We love the departure from standard pizza and Porto's contemporary décor makes it a great place to eat after returning from any of the excursions returning to Maalaea Harbor. Since we stay in Maalaea, it's wonderful having another dining option within walking distance. And I believe it's affiliated with the Pacific Whale Foundation, an excellent cause.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto also viewed

 

Been to Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.