We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Pizza! Def worth the trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto

Porto
300 Maalaea Road, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96753
808-856-8337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 75 restaurants in Wailuku
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Our NamePorto is the Italian word for “port” or “harbor.” We are located at Ma’alaea Harbor on the beautiful Hawaiian island of Maui.Our MissionAt Porto, we are artisans in pursuit of perfection, working to serve you real food that’s delicious and healthy. We start with fresh, all-natural and authentic ingredients of extraordinary flavor. We source fresh herbs, vegetables and fruits from local farmers, choosing organic whenever available, to support sustainable local agriculture and to deliver the tantalizing flavors of our islands to your palate.Pizza With a PurposeWe’re proud to save whales, dolphins and the oceans, one pizza at a time. All profits from Porto support Pacific Whale Foundation’s efforts to protect our oceans through science and advocacy.Porto is Now Open for Lunch & Dinner10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Restaurant details
Description: Our NamePorto is the Italian word for “port” or “harbor.” We are located at Ma’alaea Harbor on the beautiful Hawaiian island of Maui.Our MissionAt Porto, we are artisans in pursuit of perfection, working to serve you real food that’s delicious and healthy. We start with fresh, all-natural and authentic ingredients of extraordinary flavor. We source fresh herbs, vegetables and fruits from local farmers, choosing organic whenever available, to support sustainable local agriculture and to deliver the tantalizing flavors of our islands to your palate.Pizza With a PurposeWe’re proud to save whales, dolphins and the oceans, one pizza at a time. All profits from Porto support Pacific Whale Foundation’s efforts to protect our oceans through science and advocacy.Porto is Now Open for Lunch & Dinner10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Pizza! Def worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Tried their Bbq chicken pizza, but requested tomato instead of Bbq sauce, it was outstanding! Also tried their garlic béchamel and Pesto Pizza. All were excellent, extra tasty :0) with quality toppings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    91
    32
    7
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tasting pizza. Awesome salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Took family of four. Had pizza salads and panini. Sauce is great. Very good price. Would eat here often if l

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“One of the Best Pizza's Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This restaurant is located in the small shopping center adjacent the aquarium. It is not a large place, but the food is excellent. Ingredients are very fresh and tasty. One of the best pizzas we have had in a long, long time. Go during happy hour and everything is discounted ... but they have great pricing even if it is not happy hour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVE THIS PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My Fav New Spot. Sooooo Gooood! Best Pizza On The Island. Great Prices Too! Maui Mushtoom Pizza And Home Made Chicken Meatball Pizza Was Off The Charts. A+++++

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Food was very good but the restaurant is completely unorganized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Outside, at the entrance, there were tables and chairs that blocked the entrance. I can't see why the outdoor seating tables and chairs have to be arranged in that way.
On the tables outside, there were leftovers and dirt left by costumers that nobody thought to clean, not before we arrived and not during our meal there. We ate inside.
We entered the restaurant and waited to be seated. Nobody came to seat us. A frequent costumer told us we can seat ourselves wherever we want. Why don't they put a sign at the entrance saying that ?
We saw a free table, but when we approached we saw that it was dirty. We waited until it was cleaned. Then we waited that a server will come to us with the menus and then she came again with cold water.
In the restaurant there is absolutely no sign where the restroom is, WHY ?
My spouse ordered lemonade. He got half glass of ice and 1/3 glass of lemonade. He said to the server that for 3 Dollars he expects a full glass of cold lemonade, so she brought a pitcher and filled his glass after he ended the lemonade. She said that he can get refill, but nothing about that was written in the menu. If you don't know it and you don't ask, you pay 3 Dollars for 1/2 a glass of ice.
It took more than half an hour to get the sandwiches we ordered. They were very good.
During all our meal at that restaurant none of the servers even looked at us to see if we need anything and it took long to catch their attention and to ask for the check.
There were only 2 servers at the restaurant. They had to serve the costumers, to take orders for pizza by phone, to serve ready pizza to costumers that came to take them out, to serve costumers that came to make orders for take out food and to serve ready take out food. The owner saves salary money on the costumers time. We didn't come to Hawaii to spend our time on endless waiting for nothing in restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregkaufman, Manager at Porto, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with our team at Porto. You have a very good eye for detail and we appreciate that you wrote down your thoughts so our team could benefit from them. We're following up on some of your ideas immediately. For example, the restroom sign has been ordered. Our servers will be sure to explain to guests (at the time they order) that we offer free refills of our homemade lemonade (made with local Maui lemons and sugar) and homemade iced tea.

We are sorry that you had a long wait for your sandwiches. When scheduling our staff, we consider past and recent "traffic flows" in our restaurant and plan accordingly for service staff. Even so, we sometimes get surprised when more customers than anticipated walk in the door. I am truly sorry that we were a bit short-staffed during your meal at Porto and that you had to wait to be seated and to get your food. It isn't fun to wait. We will do our best to schedule adequate staff.

Porto is owned by the nonprofit Pacific Whale Foundation; by dining with us you help raised funds for Pacific Whale Foundation's research, education and conservation programs to protect our oceans. Thank you again for your comments and for joining us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto also viewed

 

Been to Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.