We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hostess but a perfect waitess!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto

Porto
300 Maalaea Road, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96753
808-856-8337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Wailuku
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Our NamePorto is the Italian word for “port” or “harbor.” We are located at Ma’alaea Harbor on the beautiful Hawaiian island of Maui.Our MissionAt Porto, we are artisans in pursuit of perfection, working to serve you real food that’s delicious and healthy. We start with fresh, all-natural and authentic ingredients of extraordinary flavor. We source fresh herbs, vegetables and fruits from local farmers, choosing organic whenever available, to support sustainable local agriculture and to deliver the tantalizing flavors of our islands to your palate.Pizza With a PurposeWe’re proud to save whales, dolphins and the oceans, one pizza at a time. All profits from Porto support Pacific Whale Foundation’s efforts to protect our oceans through science and advocacy.Porto is Now Open for Lunch & Dinner10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Restaurant details
Description: Our NamePorto is the Italian word for “port” or “harbor.” We are located at Ma’alaea Harbor on the beautiful Hawaiian island of Maui.Our MissionAt Porto, we are artisans in pursuit of perfection, working to serve you real food that’s delicious and healthy. We start with fresh, all-natural and authentic ingredients of extraordinary flavor. We source fresh herbs, vegetables and fruits from local farmers, choosing organic whenever available, to support sustainable local agriculture and to deliver the tantalizing flavors of our islands to your palate.Pizza With a PurposeWe’re proud to save whales, dolphins and the oceans, one pizza at a time. All profits from Porto support Pacific Whale Foundation’s efforts to protect our oceans through science and advocacy.Porto is Now Open for Lunch & Dinner10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Awful hostess but a perfect waitess!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Was greeted promptly but was told to sit anywhere we wanted and waited forever for the menus! I thought they were going to be given right away? I liked that it is uses local ingredients. I ordered the Kula tropical iced tea, Polpette, Minestrone and Blueberry Cheesecake. The waitress had a wonderful smile and personality and perhaps some of that could rub off on the other waitress. She checked up on us frequently and refilled my iced tea automatically. The receipt showed the name Julie? If that was her than she was perfect! The cheesecake was creamy and the berries were nice and sweet. The meatballs were great. The minestrone was bland, unfortunately. Will try pizzas next time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregkaufman, Manager at Porto, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your helpful comments. We really appreciate them because our Porto team is motivated to be the very best! After reading your review, the waitstaff discussed how to ensure that every customer who walks in the door gets their menus promptly and with a smile. Our chef has also adjusted the minestrone recipe to make it more zesty and flavorful. I'm confident you'll love it when you visit again. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    35
    8
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oh my word!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We didn't discover this hidden treasure until we were on our way to the airport for our return flight. Had we known, I can assure you, we would have eaten here many times during our stay. We had the most awesome pizza ever! And salad! Wow! My husband got a roasted red beet salad w/surfing goat dairy cheese that was AMAZING! The waitstaff is SO helpful and everything we had was to die for! On a whim, thinking we're only going to have airline pretzels for 12 hrs, we got a strawberry shortcake to split. It was simply the best I have every had! I even asked if they were a chain...hoping they had something on the mainland (east coast preferably)....not so - they are a Maui entity only. Oh, wow! I so hope we get back there...and soon!!! Did I say, they are so reasonably priced???

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best pizza anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

What a delight. Found this unassuming little place after returning from a dive excursion. Ordered pollo pesto pizza, small size, with Maui lemonade. Everything down to the goat cheese and pine nuts was local, and perfectly flame grilled for an explosion of flavor. Kay was a very considerate server and appeared with more lemonade at exactly the right moment. Definitely a place to come back to!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tasty Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After having some wierd pizza on Maui, this was so good! OK price too. Better than most shopping center restaurants. Handy to aquarium and harbor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pizza was good! When we got there at 7:30 they told us they were closing the kitchen soon so we felt kind of rushed so I think if we went earlier it would be better.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto also viewed

 

Been to Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.