We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful view, cheap!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waianapanapa State Park Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wailuku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waianapanapa State Park Cabins
Save
You added Waianapanapa State Park Cabins to your Saves list
54 South High Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beatiful view, cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

The cabins were very peaceful and had a great view. They are not the hotels you will find in Wailea or Lahaina at all, but they are a great place to just relax and save some money. We stayed in cabin 4 and it has a great view of the ocean. Cabin 3 would be my second choice if 4 wasn't available. The cabins are a little outdated and dingy, but offer everything basic. I would suggest to bring your own bed sheet and pillow. We spent almost all the time we were at the cabin on the porch since it had such a great view of the ocean. Expect geckos and bugs to be inside the cabin. There is quite a bit to do in that area if you are the adventurous type. The King's Highway is awesome, but only people in good shape should walk the whole way to Hana and back and definitely wear good shoes or hiking boots. The path is about 3 miles on rough, jagged lava and offers great views of the coastline. The beach at the state park can often times be to rough to swim at, but there are other swimming beaches by Hana. Our only complaint about the cabin is that we should have of booked it more than 2 nights!

  • Liked — It was quiet and remote unlike some of the other areas of Maui.
  • Disliked — Limit on nights you can stay.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
24
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

I stayed at the cabins in 2000, and December 2006. Its a gorgeous, private, quiet location, away from the hustle and cities. We loved picking papaya and coconuts, walking the trails and the black sand beach. I loved the visiting ferral cats that I feed everyday.

But I was getting more and more grossed out. I would recommend bringing your own sheets, blankets and pillows. I would think about leaving them, as a donation, since the ones we had were next to rags, had stains, and holes, though they were clean. The matresses were bad, and If I ever go again I am bringing my aerobed air matress. The kitchen ware was old and dingy, and we used aluminum pans and paper plates to cook and eat from. If I were the maintainance crew for the cabins. I would install a drainage at the lowest point in the floor and power wash everyhting letting it drain out. I would consider getting local builders or tradmen/painters to build improvements and having them stay for free. Or entice the boy and girl scouts to paint and scrap. Steam clean it, and remove the lose linoleum tile floors. I wanted my trip to be casual, and a get away without spending a fortune. Just wish it was way cleaner!!!

  • Liked — remote, quiet getaway
  • Disliked — dirty, dingy, needs a deep cleanup/painting, and new floor.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed one night at the cabin(we were originally going to stay 2 nights). The location is fantastic the cabin is right on the coast. The black sand beach and coastline are incredibly beautiful. However, the cabin was in dire need of updates. The beds were rickety and the mattresses basically falling apart. Luckily we had are own sleeping bags which we threw on the beds to sleep on instead of the threadbare sheets and smelly comforters. I have to say though the cabin was clean and at $45 a night on the coast in Maui it is quite a steal. But it is a shame the park service doesn't spend a bit of money to update the cabins and make them more inhabitable. I'm sure they could charge a bit more and have them booked year around. We were there during the busy season and only a few of the cabins were being used. I would recommend camping at the park for $5 a tent would be a alot nicer! Just a warning there are alot of mongoose around the park and they were scavenging around the outside of our cabin in the middle of the night making noises which were a bit unsettling until we figured out what it was.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Okanagan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

My husband, 3 daughters and I have stayed in the cabins numerous times, and have introduced many friends to Waianapanapa. We camped regularly at home in British Columbia when the girls were younger, and plan to take the grandkids when and if that happens. If you don't expect the Hilton, you won't be disappointed. Take a bottle of Javex and give your cabin a bit of a cleaning (the cabins are checked by staff before renters move in, but are really only as clean as the person before you leaves it) and it is awesome. The best site-seeing, hiking and beaches on Maui. The cabins are basic and starting to show their age but really, how much time do you spend in your room? Take a deck of cards, a game or two and a few good books and it's the most relaxing holiday ever! Make sure you stop at Costco before you head out to Hana to do all of your grocery shopping, and don't forget the bug goop. Have fun. P.S. it's a good idea not to park under the coconut trees. The coconuts have a tendency to break windshields.

  • Liked — That I had the camping feel but with electricity, toilet and hot shower
  • Disliked — The cabins are needing a fresh coat of paint
  • Tips/Secrets — Take a bottle of Javex
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2007

My family stayed in one of the cabins for three nights in December. The cabin was disappointing. They are very much in need of maintainance, very run down. And dirty. I don't mind basic, but dirty is hard to take. But the location is great, beautiful park to be able to stay in. Plumeria tree and coconut palm trees next to our cabin, surrounded by lush jungle. Mongooses a plenty! Being in Hana for 3 nights was a relaxing way to start a 2 week visit to Maui.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — run down and dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — If you know what you are getting into, you know what to expect, expect dirty conditions!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

My husband and I had the misfortune of staying here and it was really creepy. We are campers and I wasn't expecting much, but I would have been happier staying in my tent, because then you could zip up and know that nothing could get in. Some bugs chewed the window and door frames and it made the wood look like fiberglass (it must have been the same bugs that chewed/tore through the box springs. I pulled the beds away from the wall because it just felt safer and when I went to make the beds realized that I had bed linnens for only one, oh well, campers are adaptable, we just shared the top and bottom sheets and each had a blanket. We even were able to use the kitchen towel for a wash cloth and had a bath towel to share.

We enjoyed a warm shower after we removed the dead bugs from the shower floor, but I couldn't bring myself to use the toilet brush.

There was some rusty appliance with in the kitchen that had a hole in the front that we think we identified as a hot water heater.
The light fixture above the sink was a rusty exposed bulb.

All that could have been overlooked had the park care taker not been such an unfriendly soul. It is a shame that the representative of such a beautiful isn't very kind. It is amazing how far a smile or even a nod goes. It would be wonderful if advice as to what sights could be viewed etc, were given.

I would recommend visiting this park for maybe an hour or so then getting in your car and leaving as soon as possible.

  • Liked — black sand beach
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — do nott come
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

This was our favorite place that we stayed on Maui. Located a few miles outside of Hana, these cabins offer spectacular views and a fairly secluded setting. There is a black sand beach, caves, blowholes, and a coastal trail walking distance from all the cabins. The cabins themselves are very basic but fully equipped with full bathrooms and kitchens. Bedding is provided, but you need to bring your own pillows. They are a bit run down, but the location definately makes up for this. We loved staying here. But if you're expecting luxury, think again. Overall, a great bargain at only $45 per night

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waianapanapa State Park Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waianapanapa State Park Cabins

Address: 54 South High Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Waianapanapa State Park Cabins Hotel Wailuku
Waianapanapa State Park Cabins Maui/Wailuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waianapanapa State Park Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.