We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, amazing for families with small children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Winds II Snorkel at Molokini

Four Winds II Snorkel at Molokini
11 Maalaea Harbor Rd, Slip #80, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
808-879-8188
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$110*
and up
Ranked #7 of 36 Activities in Wailuku
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a snorkel trip to Molokini or Coral Gardens and discover a rainbow of tropical fish and beautiful coral reefs on either our Morning or Afternoon Snorkel Tours. We provide everything you need to make this the most memorable day of your Hawaii vacation! Bring the entire family because, "there's fun for everyone aboard Four Winds II".The Four Winds II is known as, "The Boat for Fun Lovers". Enjoy your day in comfort, aboard our 55ft catamaran, equipped with amenities like: Glass Bottom Viewing room, water-slide, on-board restrooms, Shaded Cabin and Shaded Upper Deck, a large open deck for the sun worshipers, continental breakfast, BBQ lunch ( grilled onboard), open bar,juice and filtered water, snorkel gear and instruction, boogie boards, flotation gear, marine naturalist and more!
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great value, amazing for families with small children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

We booked directly through the tour company and ordered the BBQ lunch. We took our four year old with us and expected to have to take turns snorkeling, however they have view boards/boats for small children!!! My four year old laid in the boat the entire time and loved it. It was amazing to be able to share this experience with my child. We took the afternoon tour and called ahead to see how likely it was they would reach Molokini, we were able to visit Molokini and it wad beautiful!! The snorkel instructor Lauren was wonderful, she was so cute with my little boy. I would definitely recommend this trip!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    70
    16
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Four Winds was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We loved our Molokini Snorkel trip with Four Winds! The crew was wonderful! We decided to snuba on our trip which was wonderful! The snuba instructor was so helpful and nice! Once I was in the water with snuba gear on I couldn’t let go of the raft out of fear. He talked with me, helped me and next thing I knew I was under water enjoying the beauty! We also saw many turtles as the captain took us to “turtle universe”. We did not snorkel with them, but I was ok with that as they came right next to the boat. The whole staff on the boat was very helpful, friendly and professional! They do a great job!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good snorkel boat for the price - could be too crowded in high season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

BIG snorkel boat that likes to go to Molokini crater (which is where you want to be) if the waves cooperate. Excellent service, good food (chicken BBQ is cooked on a real grill) - the staff could be a little more helpful in the exit and return ladders. They also offer SNUBA (we are divers and declined that one) but the hoses are only 10 feet so it's a bit constricted - YMMV.

We went during Christmas break and it was not too busy. On a packed trip it could potentially be a bit too much of a cattle car but them's the breaks - plan accordingly.

They take pictures and a video of you in the water for purchase of $50 dollars total. Pro setup - high quality camera and they burn the CD's right on the boat - definitely recommend to get these, but not mandatory. They throw in some nice stock pictures of the local marine life in case you did not see them.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

It was a very windy day. We couldn't go to Molokini. But we had a fantastic snorkeling day. The whole crew was very nice. The captain was fun as other people mentioned.(we decided Four winds 2 after we saw the reviews on tripadvisor.) The glass bottom window was very good for my little kid because she couldn't stay long in the water(5 year old).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Coral Garden is a MUST SNORKEL - Not a Molokini Alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Other reviews said it all re. Crew, food, gear are TOP NOTCH. Lets talk about the PM trip to Coral Gardens. No driving in the dark for a 7AM check in, no hoards of people (Molokini reminds me of James Bonds' Thunderball, a cast of 1000s). Load on 4 Winds PM snorkel and you're comfortable, not crowded, not falling or slipping, tons of seating options. More relaxed atmosphere, and have your glass of wine and savor the trip.
ABOUT CORAL GARDENS:it's combination of Molokini (except more coral and more fish) and Turtle Town, except shallower. I followed a pair of turtles with my video camera for 20 minutes, actually they had to drag me out of the water. Still caught the fresh off the grill lunch (boat has 2 on the back deck) and cocktails on the return. Compared to the 4-5 hour Molokini trip, I prefer this as we could spend as much time in the water as we wanted. No up and out and then putting on a cold wet suit. And the water's warmer at Coral Gardens. I've been going to Maui for over 30 yrs and this was my first trip here. Next time it will be my First Trip on Maui. Maybe I'll have time for some of 4 Winds toys too. Check w/4 Winds website - I'm sending them my turtles video - I was within 4', but NO Touching!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Winds II Snorkel at Molokini also viewed

 

Been to Four Winds II Snorkel at Molokini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Winds II Snorkel at Molokini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.