We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northshore Hostel Maui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Northshore Hostel Maui to your Saves list
Northshore Hostel Maui
2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793   |  
Hotel amenities
Albany, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“overall good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

i stayed here jan 2013. my overall experience was good and i agree with other reviewers that its well run and clean. i will say that if your looking for a party scene go somewhere else because this place is not for you. at 10pm everything is shutdown and your forced to either whisper and watch a volume-less tv or go to bed because there is literally nothing else to do. its true the location of the hostel is centrally located but in reality its far, far away from anywhere where there's things to do. only stay here if you have a car to get around the island. i can't stress this enough. like i said though, its a really clean, safe place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for writing a review. Yes we do enforce quiet hours here. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests needs in a small environment. And yes it's great to have a car, but not absolutely necessary. We have a good bus system and there are a few local restaurants and shops nearby. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    100
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
9
57
147
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Everything was okay, restrooms were very clean which was nice. My only complaint is about the beds. The mattresses were uncomfortable (all of us in the room complained about back pains) and the bunk bed was very very loud and shaky. Especially the last part would be easy to fix and seems unnecessary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Lena, sorry that you felt your mattress was inadequate. We regularly replace our mattresses but everyone has a different preference in mattress type. Thanks for your feedback and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington, pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

What I really appreciated about this hostel was how clean and well organized it was. There was a very positive atmosphere set by the owner, who was really nice, and it's obvious that he treats his staff well-- and they treat the visitors well, too. This has got to be the best deal on Maui. If you want to stay at a raucous party house, then go somewhere else. This place is chill, and has lots of great people staying at it. No worries or concerns about safety or security, either.

Room Tip: I stayed in both a dorm and a private room. Unlike some hostels, the private rooms are well worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Ada
Thank you very much for your accurate review. We really do work hard to be the best budget accommodation on Maui....we hope to see you again....mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjose
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pro: clean, quite, non-smoking/non-party
Con: internet's on and off most of the time (no very reliable), don't know if that is the purpose for folks going to coffee shop (1 block down on market) for the coffee shop internet wifi's. If the internet was stable, it would great for guests to enjoy the stay inside the hostel in the evening after dinner; also convenient for guest to check the car rental or boarding pass. The ads in its website for free internet usage but for my whole stay (5 nights), none of a night has stable internet, even for simple jobs checking yahoo email (ok to login into yahoo, then wait for ever).
Car is a need to stay there.
Wish if the hostel can have one day tour to hana or volcanic for folks without car; or have a bulletin to guest to ask the carpool ride or sharing the rental car or any other needs.

Room Tip: the first floor rooms, guest has to go outside (at night) to get in the entrance door entering key c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for writing. I apologize about the internet during your stay, we have since dropped our DSL service as it was unreliable...we were experiencing the same trouble in the office as well, which was equally frustrating. We finally have it 'dialed in'. Mahalo for staying with us and we regret your dissatisfaction with the internet during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here with a friend back in early November for 2 nights. This was one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. The rooms and bathrooms especially were spotless. There is a nice place to hang out in. Nice kitchen area. The staff was super friendly. There were a lot of helpful brochures and information about local restaurants, and how to get around on the bus. I liked that they had quiet hours and stuck to them! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks ABSteph for staying with us. It's always great to know that our hard work is paying off! Mahalo....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Coming in on 27 December when there are no Hotel rooms left in Maui. I remember hostels were the way to go back in College and found this Gem. Booked a private room and just stayed for 2 nights. Thank the owners for the Quiet Hours as I arrived at 11pm to a very quiet room. Shouts out to reception Chris for letting me know the tea and coffee on the shelves. No thrills or frills folks but you will get a nice rest, shower, and pancakes in the morning. I haven't had the time to really talk to others but if you are single, its not that hard to shack or shower up with a roommate as I have seen. But hey, that's personal. All I care is that this is a Professionally run hostel and they made my Maui trip the best. Thank you again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Aloha Clandestiny, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to tell others what a great hostel we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's no Four Seasons, but on a budget, it's great :) It's a very clean hostel...it feels like you are staying with friends. And you can't beat the price. They do have at least one room that is for couples, or if you are an adventurer, the have single sex dorm rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Lindsay
Thanks for your kind words and great review. We agree and we're always working hard to be the best! We hope to see you again someday....a hui hoa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 West Vineyard Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northshore Hostel Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.