We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanside, stunning views, slow play!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waiehu Golf Course

Waiehu Golf Course
Lower Waiehu Beach Road, Waiehu, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
808) 244-5934
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
419 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Oceanside, stunning views, slow play!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A lovely course; stunning. Well maintained, not terribly challenging, not a lot of trouble spots, but fun. And likely to be very, very slow. They allow six-somes - really??? We were backed up the whole time. Maybe next time we'll book for earlier. We had a beautiful day, but check ahead for weather - there are a lot of rain shelters here! :o) $55 each seemed a little high after Elleair, which was probably a little more interesting for play, and a tad better maintained. Plus $20 for a cart. No GPS, no rain covers on the carts. You have to pay cash for the golf play, they'll take credit cards for the cart. Food in the cafe is good - try the mahi sandwich!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I came here with two locals - it was $10 each for them and $55 for me as a non-resident. We had a 9:30 tee time but got there earlier and got to go out a bit early. It was quite busy considering it was a Friday and we had to wait at pretty well every hole. Beautiful scenery though so it didn't make it too bad! We used a power cart. You could walk the course but the back 9 is pretty hilly and seeing as we had to wait so much it was nice to have a bit of shade. Good conditions for a county course.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow seaviews on all holes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Its the best Muni golf course I have played and I have played a lot of them.you actually play with a beach for OB on a couple of holes and seaviews all the time.ok for me the hardest hole on the course is #5 a 234yard par 3??? what were they thinking but my son did put it on with a 3 wood..I got pin high with driver on a par 3??

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“CROWDED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We played behind a 6 person group. UGH The views are great but their are people every where. Also a little pricy for non residents!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great golf with amazing ocean views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I love to golf so of course wanted to golf while on our honeymoon. After researching many of the courses on Maui, we stumbled upon Waiehu Golf Course. Compared to the resorts that charge hundreds of dollars for golf, we were excited (and interested) to see what $55/person (not including cart or clubs) would be like. We were not disappointed at all! This is a public course on the island but has many holes that provide views of the ocean! The course if not overly challenging, however on vacation we were more interested in having a nice round of golf rather than playing the hardest course.

We were matched with a couple who live on Maui (this is probably my only "con" of our day of golfing as we did not particularly enjoy this couple - although they did have some good recommendations of things to see/do), and they said they have played lots of courses on the island and keep coming back to this one because of the views. While the course was not as fancy as the resorts, it certainly was worth our time and money! We will definitely be playing here again when we are back on Maui!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waiehu Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Waiehu Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waiehu Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.