We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iao Valley State Monument

Iao Valley State Monument
End of Iao Valley Road, Highway 32, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$96*
and up
Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Wailuku
Type: Monuments/ Statues, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Picnicking
Attraction details
Hendersonville, NC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The state park and the Iao Needle was one of my favorite things in Maui. The whole property is beautiful and lush. The needle is very majestic. There were people swimming in the pools below the needle and the water must have been freezing, because it was very cool in the whole park. Definately worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    288
    112
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You must experience this attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Iao Valley (Needle) is an amazing attraction. I highly recommend it. I went there twice in the last week. It is a testament to the great marvels of nature. There is an energy and peace that you will experience being in the presence of this valley. A must see when visiting Maui.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth Your Trip With Tempered Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is very cool. It's actually one of the lushest green "rainforest"esque places on the island. The rest of the island is actually quite dry relative to this. The one bone I have to pick is that there really isn't much to do but walk some limited trails. You won't likely be finding nice walking trails that go on for miles and miles. The views in the park are spectacular, but I just don't know how you could spend more than an hour or two here. Glad I went, don't get me wrong. But just go with the right expectations or you could be disappointed. Also, parking lot requires you pay, so if you park on the road in (if its not already full), you can avoid that. Not sure if its legal, but we left before any citations (if there are any).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A very nice and quick activity. The lao valley is the place where Kamehameha I. has beaten the Maui. The total cost are $5/car. The hike through the valley is easy but very beautiful. At the end (or the beginning) is a small garden. During the hike one have different views to the lao needle. It is a good idea to be there in the morning when not too many people are around (and the temperatures are lower.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was a nice quick activity for us to do in between our other ventures. It was cool and shady for us which was nice. The hike is relatively easy although there are stairs. You don't have to do the hike to be able to see it. We saw lizards and lots of pretty plant life.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iao Valley State Monument also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Iao Valley State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iao Valley State Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.