We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Gardens of Maui

Tropical Gardens of Maui
200 Iao Valley Road, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
(808) 244-3085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 16 Attractions in Wailuku
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Alamosa, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Over priced!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice to visit if you have nothing else to do in Maui. Don't take the train tour, it's overpriced and you can see the same things if you walk the grounds.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth stopping on the way to Iao Needle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were disappointed with Kula Botanical Gardens, but wanted to see more tropical flora before we left Maui. For $5, this was a great stop. The signage is pretty good, and the path easy to follow. There was a great variety of plants, but do use bug spray before you go "into the wild" or you will end up with a lot of bites! I would go here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“hawii hay ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

spots are pretty. dated,overpriced some good floua/fanua. but is not consistent.bathrooms,food available.gift shop overpriced. most of staff was friendly. plenty of parking

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL TROPICAL GARDENS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had lunch here then took the train around the property. Very enjoyable! There is also a zipline here that looked like a lot of fun.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Flowers but Buggy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This garden is also a nursery for the island so there are many hybrid flowers throughout the garden. It is a great place to photograph so many the beautiful flowers. I really liked all the orchids tucked into the trees. The one drawback to visiting the garden was the over abundance of mosquitos. My husband and I used a liberal about of bug repelent before we went but still came out with our legs covered with bites.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Gardens of Maui also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Gardens of Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Gardens of Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.