We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking at it from the outside is sufficient” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bailey House Museum

Bailey House Museum
2375-A Main Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
808-244-3326
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$154*
and up
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Wailuku
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Kentfield, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Looking at it from the outside is sufficient”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

You don't need to go in - there's not much to see; you only get to look at the ground floor, and 50% of that is dedicated to souvenir sales.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We would like to share with you that a visit to the Bailey House Museum was one of the highlights of our trip to Maui. We liked it because it was "off the bus tour track" and therefore quiet, secluded and had all we love to do i.e. picnic in the grounds, learn a lot about the Hawaiian culture and purchase super disks of local music in the gift shop. Later in our stay we attended an outdoor fundraising concert which was such a terrific end to our holiday. We got to meet and share time with the famous musician Geoge Kahumoku Jr. who plays the slack, 12 string guitar so expertly. The concert was casual - we brought our picnic supper along and ate while we listened. Thank goodness the wonderful museum curator, Travis, had taken the trouble to erect awnings as it poured. The weather enhanced the experience.
Local artists had tables where art and crafts were sold.
Thanks to Travis for his efforts to make the Bailey House Museum a success.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful view of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lots of interesting artifacts in the home of a missionary with diverse interests. Ask questions of the staff, and learn more about how Hawaii was when it took months to get there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“January 25, 2013 Moonlight Concert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The moonlight concert was a real Hawaiian treat. Excellent music outside in perfect weather. A few patrons were distracting (not an event you want to bring a hyperactive child to), but on the whole a great experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Display interesting blend of native and missionary cultures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Certainly the natives were not appreciative of the English missionaries who came to "save" them, but the Bailey family contributed in more ways than just religious conversion. This informative museum on beautifull-kept grounds is a great learning experience for young and not-so-young. It is not a large establishment, and a couple of hours is more than sufficient.
Well worth the small admission fee!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailey House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bailey House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bailey House Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.