We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Gifts!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Tropical Plantation

Maui Tropical Plantation
1670 Honoapiilani Hwy, Wailuku, Maui, HI
+1 800-451-6805
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$154*
and up
Maui Value Pass
Ranked #19 of 36 Activities in Wailuku
Type: Parks, Farms, Ranch & Farm
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Tropical Plantation is a 60 acre working plantation. Our narrated TRAM TOUR offers a unique educational opportunity to learn the origins and harvest techniques of Hawaii's commercial fruit crops. As part of your tour, our driver will demonstrate the art of husking a coconut. You'll also learn interesting facts about sugarcane, pineapple, bananas, coffee, macadamia nuts, papaya and more. Visit our Gift Shop for Made in Maui souvenirs, snacks, crystals, aloha wear and more... The Mill House Restaurant is the ideal venue for exclusive events. Also at the Plantation: Kumu Farms, Maui Zipline, Rebecca Lowell Art Gallery, Maui Paddler, Ray Belden Glassworks, Ron L. Designs and Moku Pua Soap Factory.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great for Gifts!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've been going to Maui all my life, and have always heard of this place. Never went until just recently. To me, it's an over-priced tourist attraction. If you aren't from Hawaii and don't see all this kind of plants and whatnot on a nearly daily basis, it might be worth your time and money.

What I did like here, however, was the gift shop. Yeah, it was kind of expensive, but they have a good variety of stuff, a lot of which were made on Maui! My favorite item so far has to be the Jeff's Jams & Jellies butters. The wife and I bought a jar of the Maui Style (Lilikoi, Guava, Pineapple, Orange), Kula Strawberry, Guava, and Coconut. So far we tried the Maui Style and it's simply amazing! Great fruit flavor and not too sweet. We're in love.

Also worth a visit for rail buffs. Located in a under-renovation-restaurant is the Kahului Railroad #1, the Claus Spreckels. It's a tiny Baldwin 0-4-2 built in 1882, as well as an original "Kalakaua Coach" from the Kohala Railway.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    92
    65
    23
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun, fun, informative tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This plantation's gift shop was one of the most reasonably priced gift shops that I have been in. The tram tour guide was a delightful local with an abundance of knowledge of the crops and an excellent sense of humor. The quaint shops, gardens, artwork, display, and wandering fowl made for an unexpectedly delightful outing which I thoroughly enjoyed. And, Ion, the most personable tour guide ever!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great tour of the plantation by Ion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We arrived just before hurricane Iselle hit the island. We called ahead and was told it was open. It turned out to be a perfect weather/timing to visit for the 3:15 pm tour with Ion. There was no rain during the tour. It rained shortly after tour ended and was not too hot/cold. Because of the hurricane, our family and another family were the only people for this tour so we pretty much got a private tour... :) Ion was very funny cracking many funny jokes. The breaking open the coconut was very entertaining as well as Ion's description of all the plants and trees on the plantation. The tour was great and well worth the inexpensive price. Don't forget to visit the stores/shops afterwards.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice Tour of Plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed this place especially the tram tour. Seeing all the different plants in one place and marked with names was nice. Was also like the relaxed atmosphere of the vendors that made stuff there really while you watched. We bought some coconut leave stuff here. Nice place worth the stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ion is the best tram tour guide! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked the 10:00 am Saturday tram tour wanting to avoid the crowds. To our surprise we were the only ones on the tour and Ion our driver/guide was awesome! He didn't skimp on the tour at all and was very informative, engaging and entertaining!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Tropical Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Maui Tropical Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Tropical Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.