We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and lots to do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Tropical Plantation

Maui Tropical Plantation
1670 Honoapiilani Hwy, Wailuku, Maui, HI
+1 800-451-6805
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$154*
and up
Maui Value Pass
Ranked #19 of 36 Activities in Wailuku
Type: Parks, Farms, Ranch & Farm
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Tropical Plantation is a 60 acre working plantation. Our narrated TRAM TOUR offers a unique educational opportunity to learn the origins and harvest techniques of Hawaii's commercial fruit crops. As part of your tour, our driver will demonstrate the art of husking a coconut. You'll also learn interesting facts about sugarcane, pineapple, bananas, coffee, macadamia nuts, papaya and more. Visit our Gift Shop for Made in Maui souvenirs, snacks, crystals, aloha wear and more... The Mill House Restaurant is the ideal venue for exclusive events. Also at the Plantation: Kumu Farms, Maui Zipline, Rebecca Lowell Art Gallery, Maui Paddler, Ray Belden Glassworks, Ron L. Designs and Moku Pua Soap Factory.
1 review
“Cheap and lots to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

There were lots of aloha from the girls there and alway smiling. My family took Their tour and learn alot about the plants, we were surprise there was a stop with coconut opening. Gift shop had one if the best ice cream. Don't miss it great place to go

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty o, Manager at Maui Tropical Plantation, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write a review about the Plantation. I am glad that you and your family had a pleasant time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    92
    65
    23
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not remotely worth it (and it's not expensive)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

What a disappointment. First off we booked tickets online. Nothing (obvious) to say you couldn't book on the day and geez, in this day and age a simple bit of code would prevent it being possible. Rocked up with our confirmation number and the person at the desk was RUDE!!! Obviously this happens a lot as there was a well worn print out explaining the restriction. She could have been empathetic, tell us they were going to resolve it, etc but no - treated us like we were morons and that we wouldn't get our money back. Managed to after putting up a stink but it was like they were doing us a big favor. The tour itself - the tour guide/tram driver thought he was hilarious with his schtick (he wasn't) and got insulted when no one on the tram laughed at his bad jokes. A couple of interesting factoids but could have got that from a way shorter journey. Or, um, the internet. Anyway, between the exceptionally rude "customer service" people in the massive shop/ticket counter and the ridiculously lame tour driver it was super painful. Don't bother.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cute Stop in Maui”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We saw this on the way to the Iao Valley State Park. There were a ton of kitchsy items in the store so we made a note that we would stop by again when we had more time as the store was already closing (everything closes early in Hawaii, not used to that).

On our second trip, we decided against buying anything at the store but we did get some ice cream. It was nice to sit by the garden and eat. The entire area was pretty empty for the most part. I think the only business this place gets is from cruise ships as someone mentioned this was a excursion for Norwegian.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shop staff incredibly rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We live in Maui and decided to meet a bunch of our friends at the Tropical Plantation and were extremely dissapointed with the attitudes of the staff. There is not much to do there.
We were thinking about taking the tram ride but arrived too late to purchase a ticket for the same ride as our friends. We were told that it was too late. We ran up to the train to say good bye to our friends and it was still being boarded. We asked if we could still get on and the train conductor said he would call down to the store to ask. They said no. That's fine if that's protocol but the train was still there and all of our friends were on the train. I guess it's our fault for being late but there was no customer service from the shop, we could have easily still gotten on.
We asked the store why and the lady was very rude and said we should have purchased our tickets with everyone else and she had a very bad non aloha attitude. I am a concierge and will never promote this place, conpletely ruined our morning with her attitude and mean faces she made. It's close to Christmas, really sad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Would not honor discount”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

found a coupon 10 % off in internet, printed to pdf, but they would not honor it because it was not printed on paper even though I showed it on computer screen, so 4 of us paid $ 60 instead of $54.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Tropical Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Maui Tropical Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Tropical Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.