We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manzarek Rogers concert!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iao Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Iao Theater
68 North Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
808-244-8680
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Wailuku
Attraction details
Wailuku, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Manzarek Rogers concert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nothing like an up close and personal experience with the original keyboard player of the Doors and one of the greatest blues guitar players! What a rare treat at the lovely Iao Theater. It's a must!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely restored local theatre opened in 1928”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just saw Na Leo Lani O Maui in concert at the Spanish Mission style historic Iao Theatre. What a wonderful way to celebrate the Christmas season and this choir's passion for song and Hawaiian culture. But the best part was this restored theatre in the historic section of Wailuku. It's a small local theatre that has a theatre group (Maui Onstage) that puts on plays through out the year. I've booked tickets for next year after seeing the concert. The intimate seating make good seats anywhere and the ticket prices are a bargain for Maui! Air conditioned and some events are bookable on line, it seats about 700. Parking is VERY limited, but there is a lot across the street behind the stores that line this historic street.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAHAINA MAUI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always quality entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My Husband and I love the Iao Theater. I love the new very comfortable seats, since I am a well endowed lady, that is saying a lot!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Five Thumbs Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband, son, daughter-in-law and 6-year-old granddaughter attended a Thursday evening performance which all greatly enjoyed. Costuming was beautiful, performances of actors was highly polished and the music was great. The storyline kept all of us entranced and that is not easy with such a spread of ages. There was some audience participation--just enough--and one was thoroughly engaged. It was my husband's and my second time to see this having been some five years previously. We enjoyed it every bit as much this time and would go again given the opportunity. Definitely for us a highlight of our trip. Thumbs up!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Non Professional theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

they put on great shows even though it is an amateur company

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iao Theater also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Iao Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iao Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.