We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel to your Saves list
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
310 North Market Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793   |  
Hotel amenities
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Banana Bungalow has all what i needed. It`s clean, nice and funny people. it's not luxurious but convenient to discover maui.
The staff was very helpful and the tours are amazing ! The location could be better, but with a car it's perfect.
Thank you for the unforgettable time !

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We will do our best to keep up the good work as long as you keep coming back!
Aloha and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    85
    29
    28
    34
See reviews for
8
60
147
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The free daily tours makes this somewhat isolated hostel a truly nice place to stay on Maui. That being said, the neighborhood that Banana Bungalow Maui hostel is in is rather seedy and somewhat dangerous (don't walk around the neighborhood alone at night).

I've stayed at this hostel many times. Unfortunately, during my last two visits, there was such a problem with flies that I found it difficult to eat (or to read a book) in peace.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Aloha Dan, Thank you for your positive comments! We appreciate your feedback. We have never had a complaint about flies except from you. It is mango season and during this time we do seem to have a bit more winged friends around. We will do our best to make sure they aren't here to bother you next time.
Safe travels and aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here for a week in September 2012, and it was my very first hostel experience. I slept in a private room, and while it was small, it was nice and clean (the shared bathrooms/showers and the kitchen were not as clean as the bedroom, unfortunately.) We didn't have a problem going to sleep even though our bedroom window faced the common area, as the hostel staff have a strict "keep quiet" rule after 10 pm, which most people seemed to follow. The staff was really friendly, and it was a lot of fun to hang out with them and the other people at the hostel during the evenings. The free tours are awesome (with great tour guides!) and they were the main reason why we chose to stay at this hostel. Just make sure you sign up early the day before the tour, as they fill up pretty quickly.

The location is not very good, it's far from the beach and there's not a lot to do and see in Wailuku. If you rent a car or go on the tours, the location won't a big problem though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Aloha, Thank you for the review! While we can't change our location we strive to make the one we have as friendly and welcoming as possible for our traveling friends. Glad to hear you had a good time and hope you come back to visit us again someday!
Safe travels and aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Banana Bungalow are super. My reservation got a little confused but the staff rectified the situation immediately. It's completely a no frills stay but it's absolutely worth the stay. If I get back to Maui, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Appreciate the kind words! Hope we get a chance to host you again soon!
Safe travels and aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent 9 days at Banana Bungalow.

I had an incident in my room and staff was prompt to solve my problem, offered me a private room for a couple days and were very friendly.

Rooms are small (2 bunk beds), and ok for cleanness and comfort. Problem is the noise outside (both street and from people partying). I only had a good night sleep when I had my iPod running. You should ask for a quieter room, so you won't face the street or the common area.

Bathrooms were not bad. There are a few private bathrooms available, shower was ok, pretty clean considering is a hostel at an island (no sand).

Location is not good, minimum 50 minutes by bus to go to a nice beach. But if you're doing the tours, as I did, location is not a problem. There is a market close by and bus stop as well.

The tours are awesome, and are a great way to meet people.

Room Tip: You should ask for a quieter room, so you won't face the street or the common area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Banana Bungalow is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. It is clean, the staff and people who stay there are extremely friendly, and the price to stay is really inexpensive. They offer a free pancake breakfast in the morning and free tours during the day (they just ask that you tip your tour guide, which is so worth it because the tour guides are awesome!). They even have free keg parties on Fridays! You can't beat staying here! It will be the best experience on any island in Hawaii. We didn't want to leave at the end of our vacation because it felt like we were leaving our family.

I also stayed at the Banana Bungalow six years ago with some friends. We wanted to try out another hostel on the island as well that was a little closer to the beach and we completely regretted it. The staff at the other hostel were so high and stupid (they lost our reservation) that we agreed to stay the one night because it was late when we checked in, but the next day we immediately went back to the Bungalow. The Bungalow is THE place to be. Trust me, the Bungalow is the best on the island!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've stayed at a lot of hostels and can say that the Banana Bungalow is a good one. The staff are friendly and the managers are super accommodating an really care about the place. the place is clean and they don't let bedding from outside which helps prevent bed bugs.

The value for money can't be beat. The free tours take guests all over the island and the guides are super knowledgeable, offering up tons of travel tips.

Free pancake mix for breakfast and a full service kitchen and barbecue make cooking fun and easy.

The common areas ensure a friendly place to hang out and meet new friends, play pool and ... Drink. Lots of drinking in the evening.

There are few downsides. I have to say the beds were not the best and rooms are pretty cramped. also the mixed gender shower situation is not ideal.

If you are laid back and looking to meet new people, get to know the island, socialize and drink on occasion, this is the hostel for you. That being said, quiet couples looking for a romantic get away may not be as comfortable with the party vibe.

Awesome hostel and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Address: 310 North Market Street, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel caters to backpackers, travelers and surfers wanting to get the best out of Maui,and the best value for their money. Your stay comes with a friendly atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. We offer more free amenities than any other hostel in Hawaii, probably the world. We offer FREE TOURS of MAUI EVERY DAY!: 12-Mile Haleakala Volcano Hike, The Road to Hana, Iao Valley Rainforest Hike, Whale Watching (seasonal), Snorkel with Turtles, Historic Lahaina and Paia Towns, Beaches, Beaches, Beaches!Large Tropical Garden with 7-Person Jacuzzi, Large Shared Kitchen, Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet Computer, Free pancake breakfast, Free keg parties every Friday night! "BACKPACKERS SHOULD HEAD TO BANANA BUNGALOW" - Frommer's 2011, "LIVELY AND COSMOPOLITAN HOSTEL" - Fodor's 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Maui Hotel Wailuku
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Wailuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.