We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge says "Good food for a good price"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serpico's Pizzeria and Restaurant

Serpico's Pizzeria and Restaurant
7 Aewa Place, (Old Haleakala Highway), Pukalani, Maui, HI 96768-8882
808-572-8498
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Pukalani
Cuisines: Bakery, Italian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Makawao
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Concierge says "Good food for a good price"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are a family on a budget like me you will enjoy Serpicos. Italian authentic via the east coast, this family run business has an established reputation with those who live upcountry. Small, unpretentious and just good Italian food that you will take home as leftovers. I love the Vodka a la Penne and the hot sandwiches. Pizzas are always a plenty. Another place to bring your own beer or wine to dine. If you're lucky you'll see chef/owner "Hatch" at the pizza oven, his wife Miriam at the cash register and their eldest children waiting tables or working the kitchen. Try the hand-made calzone for dinner or the cannoli for dessert.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Calzone!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Awesome taste ---- made us feel lke we in New York, sauce was excellent, service was good and the place had a family feel....there is little view and the place small but a good place after a visit to the Haleakala Crater

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pizza Like New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Best pizza outside of Chicago and New York that I ever had. Great sauce, great crust, great service. Right on main road easy to find with gps

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent lasagna; not pricey or exotic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stopped there with my wife and we shared the lasagna. You know how some places the lasagna is dry and crunchy and pretty much worthless? Not here. This was a heaping place of lasagna, lots of ricotta cheese, and a couple of ladles full of sauce. Certainly enough for the two of us. My blood sugar shot up right away! Only bad thing? Alas, they just switched over to Pepsi from Coke products. :( We've been here before, about a year ago, and enjoyed the pizza. Maui has lots and lots of great pizza places (I think all great pizza makers eventually migrate to Maui; come here once and you'll understand why), and this was very good. Hand tossed crust, lots of toppings, great cheese (when you're from Wisconsin you learn to recognize great cheese!). Anyway, the lasagna comes with a salad, so we opted for a Caesar. Quite good. Plus some homemade toasted focaccia bread. With a couple of sodas, total came to about $22.00. So, anyway, this is a great little local restaurant. No view at all, not a great place to look at, no ambiance or romanticism. But when you're looking for a pizza/pasta joint, all you want is good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food, great price, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great food, great price, excellent value. Stop here on your way back from the summit. We sampled a variety of the fare, except the pizza. Pizza must be good thopugh because we could see it flying out of the place as there was a constant line of persons picking it up. Price of food was consistent with good value place in states - surprised to see these low prices in Maui.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serpico's Pizzeria and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Serpico's Pizzeria and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serpico's Pizzeria and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.