We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, original pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flatbread Company

Flatbread Company
89 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
(808) 579-8989
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
O'Fallon, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, original pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I ate at Flatbread Company at the conclusion of our Road to Hana journey. We were tired, hungry, and—most of all—thirsty. There was a 30 minute wait while we arrived, so we grabbed the last two seats at the bar. We ordered a pepperoni and jalapeño pizza.

The pepperonis here (nitrate-free) are unlike any I've ever had. They more closely resembled sliced meatballs than traditional pepperoni. It was good, but I still prefer traditional. However, the pizza as a whole was great and really hit the spot. The service and atmosphere were top notch as well. We loved how the menus were all uniquely decorated by children.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    257
    62
    21
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Great Place for Designer Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Some friends of ours took us to Flatbread Company. I knew it was good because of the line even though we went early...and it was. The pizzas were great.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't quite understand the appeal.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Sure, the flatbread was o.k. — the salad was o.k. — and I can ignore the crazy prices for what you get (this is Maui after all) — but "The Best Pizza Ever"??? Hmmm...not exactly sure where everyone else was eating.

Listen, Paia is a small town. If you're really craving "pizza" and can't do without something similar in many ways to "pizza", I guess you could give the Flatbread Company a shot. That said, be prepared for a long wait, an uncomfortably warm environment and sticker shock after all is said and done.
On a more positive note, I will say that the hostess and severs while visibly stressed and overheating, were nice.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best best pizza and salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This is my 5th time to this restaurant. ..They have the best service...food and bar.The pesto pizza is out of this world..fresh..organic. .and delicious. I can't wait to go back...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza, average atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Its a mix between too causal and not fine dining for how much it costs but the pizza is amazing. It is loud in there so be aware. Close to Paia Bay beach. Lovely town, just lots of hippies. Would definitely reccomend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flatbread Company also viewed

 

Been to Flatbread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatbread Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.