We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flatbread Company

Flatbread Company
89 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
(808) 579-8989
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Riverside, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tremendous pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a late lunch there on the recommendation of the people at Blue Hawaiian helicopters (only about 10 minutes away). The Southwestern/BBQ one was exceptional, and the salad was unique and delicious. One of us eats gluten free and that pizza was great as well. A cute little town near the heliport and the start of the road to Hana.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    795
    269
    64
    21
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza, service is lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had lunch here on a busy Friday afternoon. There were quite a few people waiting but they quoted us 30 minutes. After 45 minutes of watching the hostesses wander around with menus, not yelling out any names, I asked where we were on the list. We were crossed off because "they couldn't find us." (I was standing in front of the hostess station the entire time). I see this has happened to other guests. I don't understand why they wouldn't call out party names?? Seems strange and inefficient.

We were seated next to the pizza oven. Was fun to watch the lively kitchen staff prep and cook. Service was so-so. Waited awhile to get order taken and got our pizza before our mojitos.

Pizza is excellent, however!! Try the kahlua pork - very flavorful and amazing! This is my second visit here and would come again.. The service just needs a few improvements!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is my Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

OMG, just by luck we happened upon this totally authentic gem in this quaint surfer's town along the Hana Rd. Loved the decor, the staff, the pizza makers, the tables, chairs and of course the food. It was so much fun watching the pizzas being made as well. Gotta start with the organic greens - we added chicken and avocado to one of ours which was delicious. We shared 3 different pizzas - all were fabulous but the highlight had to be the special of the day - a bacon and carmelized onion marmalade pizza. Out of this world! If you are in the area it's a "must"

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were surrounded by the aroma of baking pizza every evening while staying at a vacation rental on Ae Road in Paia, almost behind Flatbread, so caved one night and went there for dinner. From observation we knew there was always a queue to be seated so called ahead to put our name in for a table for six. We were seated immediately when we strolled over a half hour later, and our beers and sodas were delivered to our table within minutes of ordering. It was another half hour before our lackluster pizzas were placed before us. Talk about tasteless. They were like warm cardboard with a sparse layer of bland toppings. I resisted suggesting they head over to Mana Foods and pick up some basic pizza seasonings. Reading other reviews I wonder if we hit it on an off night, but I think there are just different preferences in pizzas. Ours are for ones with flavor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Big clay oven, excellent pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Two doors down from the Paia Inn on the main drag in Paia, we popped in to the Flatbread Company for pizza one evening and fell in love with it. The clay oven is up front where you can watch the pies going in and out. Unlike most pizzas these days, this pie was delicate and cooked to a crisp with real color on the crust. Classy, delicious, perfect with a bottle of red wine. Very crowded at peak hours, though, so plan ahead if you can.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flatbread Company also viewed

 

Been to Flatbread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatbread Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.