We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hawaiian Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
799 Poho Pl, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9708
+1 808-579-8488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Paia
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Hawaiian Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent fresh fish served in the most perfect Hawaiian setting overlooking the ocean and the beach. Although the meal was expensive, the fish was so fresh they even named the fisherman who caught each fish of the day. Service was friendly but not as efficient as you would expect for that price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,693
    589
    287
    112
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This place is on the beach down a little path, make reservations if you can. The seafood bisque they serve with the freshly baked bread loaf is amazing. The lobster tails are divine and the fish is caught fresh every morning. This little place is great for a romantic dinner and a stroll on the beach.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho cucamonga, CA
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“As always, the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I've reviews this before but it still stands.

What can I say? We've been here before and every time it is just as good. Had them academia but crusted magi which was phenomenal but shocking we liked the lemon butter sautéed eku better actually. The appetizer of Ono in coconut was amazon and soooooooo fresh. The Prawns in Tahitian vanilla butter were also just amazing

The atmosphere, our server Jeff and the food were all so great. Every time we are in Maui we try and come here and always will as it is one of the best restaurants in all of Maui!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I wanted a special night out on our last night in Maui, which we thought Mama's Fish House, largely due to the great reviews, could provide.

Our table was right by the windows overlooking the grounds and the ocean, beautiful indeed.

Started off with a Maui Margarita $18 and a glass of Burgess Merlot $15.

The food was well prepared and very tasty, portions sizes on the small side.

Appetizers......Wasabi Crusted Calamari (they were perfectly fried, tender, but I could barely taste the wasabi, making this dish a bit bland). Mama's Salad, very good! Each appetizer was $18.

Entrees....Mahimahi stuffed with lobster and crab $52 and seared Yellowfin Ahi in a ti leaf with mango salsa and coconut rice $42. Enjoyed both dishes.

We were served a complimentary poppy seed bread with butter and a sip of some tasty mushroom soup prior to our appetizers. A nice touch was the hot cloth for our hands after the dinner.

Our wait staff was extremely efficient and friendly, except the frazzled hostess who was debating some other customer's reservation glitch with a colleague right in front of us while we were awkwardly waiting for seating. Not a beautiful welcome.

We had a nice experience and were not disappointed. However, considering how very expensive this place is, I do have to say, the restaurant is huge, very busy and noisy. It does have a bit of a commercialized feel to it and for me the intimate / romantic vibe was just not there. And yes, no doubt, it is overrated and the food and drinks are overpriced, therefore, my lower rating.

My take, been there done that.....will try something different next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“EXTRAORDINARY !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

As a world traveler, cuisine critic & resident of Maui - I can state that it doesn't get any better than dinining at Mamma's Fishhouse! The ambiance, service and diverse styles of menu selections is unrivaled! Any local fish preparation selected promises to be inclusive of a Pacific delight that was alive within 24 hours of your dining experience. Diversity of cusine available can satisfy any discerning palate. The menu is daily specific. Desserts are unique and decadent. I have never been dissappointed in my hundreds of dining experiences at Mamma's over the past 30 years. Although most would refer to the food and beverage selections as expensive, this dining experience is incomparable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.