We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the best restaurant in Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
799 Poho Pl, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9708
+1 808-579-8488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Paia
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good but not the best restaurant in Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Good time at Mama's, but this is not the best on Maui. I had much better food at Lahaina Grill and even Leilani's I think can compete. That said this place is probably top 3-5 on the island and the view and service make it definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,694
    589
    287
    112
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fresh fish with beautiful views ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We didn't want to leave the island without trying mamas fish house as it's considered an island institution.
A couple of tips.
-make reservations at least a couple of days in advance. They are on open table.
-there is free valet parking
-the restaurant has a beautiful view which can really be enjoyed by the seat closest to ocean. Not sure if it's possible to request it but I would try. I would also come during the day or early evening to enjoy the view and take some pictures.
-don't feel like you need to stick to exactly what is on the menu. I ordered the onaga with garlic butter and capers but I asked them not include capers and they were most accommodating.
-if you like fish covered with creamy thick sauce, I don't think this is the place for you. All dishes come with a sauce but they are light to let the fish shine thru.
-dishes are pricy (about 45-50 per dish) but was all worth it when my husband said his dish was heavenly. He ordered the mahi mahi stuffed with lobster and crab. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the splurge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We always make sure to come here when in Maui. They do a great job creating a welcoming ambience with the beach front location, lighting and open feel. The curry entree has great favors. And all the fish tastes very fresh. As others note, it is silly expensive, but worth the splurge.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, magnificent food !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

There isn't anything negative that can be said about this restaurant. The views, the staff, food quality and food presentation were superb. While dinning my wife had a slight mishap of dropping her iPad off a window sill and it fell down between the walls. After our many attempts to retrieve and having no success, the staff immediately began their quest searching for numerous items that might work. Finally a maintenance person was successful and was able to return the device to my wife. Service by all was above and beyond all belief.
If driving ' the road to hana' in Maui, it would be a sin to pass by Mama's Fish House on your return trip. Treat yourself, you will not be disappointed !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Yes, expensive, but what an atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Yes, the food is very overpriced, but we couldn't find a more beautiful atmosphere and professional friendly staff for lunch. We had a table looking out on the open area leading to the picturesque beach area. Exotic, tropical and natural. The stuffed mahi mahi ($52) was just good, not great. The fish itself and the crab were of average taste. The mini lobster on top was very tasty. Next time we'll probably order just a couple of appetizers at $25-30 each, drink iced tea and just linger and enjoy it all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.