We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
799 Poho Pl, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9708
+1 808-579-8488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Paia
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Mama's is the best fish resturant in Maui my wife and I go back every year for lunch for last 10 year the fish is alway fresh and a great taste and flavor we already have reservations for this year go and enjoy little expense but go

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,709
    595
    288
    112
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must do!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service, the view, the food - all phenomenal! As a matter of fact, we made reservations on the way out, to return in 2 days.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“As good as promised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had heard that Mama's was a wonderful experience with wonderful, but very pricey. It was all of this, but not as pricey as we were prepared for. An appetizer, 2 entrees, dessert, and a bottle of wine totaled $195 (before tip), which certainly is not cheap; however, we've had meals in this same price range that didn't come close to the experience, quality, and taste of what we enjoyed at Mama's Fish House. As others have advised, stay away from the $16 mai tais. We opted instead for a bottle of pinot grigio, which was wonderful with the seafood we enjoyed. We also had the crème brulee for dessert, which was amazing (and I'm not someone who typically even orders that kind of dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Food Wonderful Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Mama's fish house definitely lives up to its reputation. If I went again, we would make reservations very early in advance (at least probably two weeks). Also, the atmosphere is so fun, so go around sunset so that you can experience the place during the day and after dark. The menu definitely offers a variety of unique fish cooked in various ways.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

tried snapper, salmon...both are delecious! best fresh food around.
nice views...
but make sure u have reservations before you go there...its always busy

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.