We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
799 Poho Pl, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9708
+1 808-579-8488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Paia
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Glendale, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Outstanding food and service! Wonderful lunch; the service staff are so knowledgable about the menu. This is some of the most solicitous service I have experienced in the USA. Amazing view. Very special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,692
    589
    287
    112
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

beautiful setting and unique restaurant. just be aware that it is pricey and the portions of food are small. valet parking and warm towels at the end of the meal nice touches. food was delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Someone locally told me that we needed to go to Mama's Fish House when we did the bike tour in Paia so I made lunch reservations. The food and drinks were so good and the scenery and restaurant were so beautiful, I made dinner reservations for the rest of the family! We all loved the atmosphere not to mention the food and special drinks that the bartenders whipped up! Gotta go to Mama's when you're in Maui! You won't regret!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elk grove ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my 3rd visit to Mama's, and perhaps the best. Combining the atmosphere, service and food, it's just a wonderful experience. My waiter, Tim, was just great, and he took special care of us. Thanks Tim!! We had a party of 5, were seated by a window, drinks and a bottle of wine. Food was delicious. He did some extra things that were over the top. I have no problem paying top dollar when it's justified, and here it easily is. By comparison, I like Duke's, and ate there several days after. Good...but Mama's is superb! See you in January!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“An extraordinary world class restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have been there 4 or 5 times, and loved it every time! It's a little off the beaten track but well worth the drive! Amazing fish, perhaps the best I have had anywhere in the world. Good service. Charming ambience.
Never timely when you a reservation,but there's always tropical drinks!
Pricey, but worth every penny
Be sure & save room for dessert, the desserts are incredible!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.