We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice as Nice on Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
799 Poho Pl, Paia, Maui, HI 96779-9708
+1 808-579-8488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Paia
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Kansas City
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Twice as Nice on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

How much does my family love Mama's Fish House? So much, that on our most recent vacation on Maui we made reservations to dine here twice. We can't get enough of this place. Since our first visit in 2000, we have eaten at Mama's every time we go to Maui. I consider it to be the best restaurant I've visited anywhere in the world. The food is amazing. The ingredients are incredibly fresh, and the creativity used in creating dishes is genius (I loved the fish curry dish, and eyes rolled into the back of our heads after tasting the chocolate/caramel pie). The service is always attentive and spot-on. During one of our two visits this time around, there was some confusion and our entrees came before a soup I had ordered. Our server didn't just apologize - she treated the entire table to dessert. Now, that's a classy operation. Through it all, there are the views of Mama's cove that makes for some of the best photos you'll snap anywhere on the island. This is a special place. The prices are high, but I believe a meal here is worth every penny, as you'll never forget the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,700
    590
    287
    112
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“amazing atmosphere; amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everything positive you hear about Mama's Fish House is true!
It's beautifully set on a palm tree covered beach. It just has a very peaceful vibe for a top-end restaurant.
You enter the restaurant after the valet parks your car and meandering down a beautiful path. Kudos to personnel, because everyone you encounter is filled with Aloha spirit!
For some reason, the reservation stated food allergies in our group (an error), but this was checked and double-checked, which we appreciated because, if there had been a food allergy, it would have been essential to have it addressed.
Our server was prompt, very informed and friendly. He didn't "hover", but was always available if a need arose.
The food was out of this world! The appetizer (although raw fish is not my personal favorite) was very delicious, as was the wine.
I ordered an entree that featured traditional Hawaiian foods (Kalua pork and grilled mahi mahi with Hawaiian accompaniments). Very delicious! The rest of our party ordered the macadamia nut-encrusted stuffed (with crab and lobster) mahi mahi.
Everyone enjoyed!
The desserts are beautiful and delicious...not to be missed!
By the way, reservations are a must! We had ours two weeks ahead of time (and for a Sunday night), and the time slots available were already limited.
Expect to spend at least $50 per entrée ($19 for child's entrée!), so it's not inexpensive, but if you consider it an "experience" you will enjoy your brief time in paradise!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere....bad cooking...high price !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is great....The food qualità is good but they are not able to cook !!! A wonderfull swordfish killed by chili sauce !!! And you pay a lot only because a nice place !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Special occasion dining must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I agree with previous reviews everything is excellent. We were fortunate to be celebrating an anniversary and received a special note card along with a visit from the manager with a fragrant lei. It was a special touch. We also had a very experienced and knowledgeable server who always pointed us in the right direction and knew how to make our dining experience over the top. We enjoyed a variety of appetizers, entrees, drinks and desserts. They even had a wonderful kids menu which had a set price of $19 for drink and entree. We were expecting a big bill at the end so there was no surprise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very disappointed after multiple positive recommendations.
The building and setting are definately worth the visit --- for a drink.
This is it for the "must do" in our book.
The ambiance is great but the food was not close to exceptional even though I ordered their "signature" stuffed Mahi Mahi.
Then was handed a check with two items we didn't order, two wines and two appitizers resulting in $40+ over-charge!
When we called our server's attention to the error we got a shrug and a casual, even cavalier comment about "taking a look" at it. The check came back corrected with no expression of accountability or regret.
Maybe with all the positive reviews they don't feel they need to pay that much attention to getting the check right. Or worse, maybe this is a business practice?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamasFishHouse, Social Media & Marketing Director at Mama's Fish House, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear PK,

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to Mama's Fish House. We apologize for the error that was made on your bill, however Mama's did quickly and accurately correct the bill. I can assure you that Mama's FIsh House has not earned the outstanding reputation that we have and have maintained for over 40 years by regularly overcharging our guests. Mistakes happen, and when they do occur we make every attempt to promptly and accurately correct them. If you would like to speak to a manger regarding this occurrence we welcome you to call us. 1-808-579-8488.

Mahalo,

Mama's Fish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.