We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mahi Burger!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paia Fish Market

Paia Fish Market
100 Baldwin Ave., Paia, Maui, HI 96779
(808) 579-8030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Paia, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Mahi Burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I am not sure if I like the interior as much as I used to, after they have recently renovated and painted much of the interior walls white. Though, the food is still the same, and there is no better Mahi Burger in this world than the one they make here. Needless to say, that is all I eat, along with some home fries, when I go there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    345
    77
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Set dinner there on a Sunday evening after completing the road to Hana. We shared the fish and chips between 2 adults and it was tasty and plenty. The fish was fresh from the catch of the day. It is along the lines of a seafood Chipolte. More beer selection than
wine. Very casual, but perfect for the end of the ride to Hana and back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“huge portions and busy location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Paia's version of the english fish and chip shop except with locally caught fresh fish simply cooked, super fires and good salads. Order at the counter and collect your food when ready find somewhere to eat on the benches and tables in the small space.

Very tasty.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place for fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

we stopped here after a mountain biking tour up halealaka. we wandered a bit and found the restaurant on the corner overrun by folks. I had the ono burger (delicious), my wife and buddy fish tacos. order the onion rings, totally worth it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk County , NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst meal of our 2 week trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Fresh fish? Definitely not the fried shrimp which was Costco frozen at best. Seafood chowder? If someone can prove to me that was not a store bought new england clam chowder I will pay someone $25 to eat at this dump. Fish tacos? I could have been cat food the way it tasted. You want a fish taco and near Lahaina try $5 Taco Tuesday at Leilani's. Calamari was good but was the smallest portion I've ever seen.
Awful experience for this family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paia Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Paia Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paia Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.