We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find on Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Tile Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Tile Beach House to your Saves list
Blue Tile Beach House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   459 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% Off Same Day Booking
Ranked #3 of 5 Paia B&B and Inns
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Find on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A great value. Other Hotels can't touch it, plus it's a bed and breakfast.!!Fresh local fruit offered daily along with all the predictable breakfast items. Also the option to use the kitchen anytime. Alexis and Eric are welcoming and shared information about everything we needed to know from restaurants to sights in the area, plus a special birthday night on the town.
Clean, ambiance,and a few minute walk from the center of Paia (eclectic artsy town) ----Maui away from the tourist generic resort experience. A delight.
Woke up each morning to the roar of the ocean and 10 steps later on the beach. Heaven.

Room Tip: No pool. Sorry but the survey would not let me erase. There are only 6 rooms so book early to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
53
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just stayed at the blue tile house as we were gifted the stay by a friend.

When we arrived there was a minor problem with our bathroom in the sunset room (one that the owners were unaware of and wasn't their fault). We left to go out for a few hours with the reassurance that it would be sorted. When we came back Alexis and Eric had upgraded us to one of the suites whilst they tended to the problem. Class A customer service, no problems, just solutions. It made our stay even better than if there had been no problem in the first place.

Lovely people, and the property (right on one of the nicest beaches on the north shore) is idyllic. Totally worth paying the extra for the suites if you get the choice. Upper suite has a fantastic view, is just like a honeymoon suite, dinner on the balcony, sunsets, starry sky's and a nice airy space & huge bed to match! Lovely stay, great memories, will stick with us for some time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We found blue tile beach house on hotels.com. Their most affordable room was $123 a night. The room was the smallest room but clean with a very nice bathroom but no view, which is fine since you can walk onto the beach as the property is beachfront.

We don't lounge around much when were on Hawaii so it didn't matter the bed was kind of small, but workable for 2 people.

We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Blue Tile Beach house was an AMAZING find. The management, Eric and Alexis, are super friendly and make you feel right at home. My husband and I stayed in the ground-floor suite and couldn't have been more happy with our experience. Our room walked right out to a beautiful view of the ocean, there was a perfect view of the sunset each night. It was so nice to listen to the waves crash on the beach as we were falling asleep and waking up in the morning. The beach there is great too, right out your back door with lots to see. Our last night we watch the sunset and got to see sea turtles popping their heads out of the water right off the beach! The Blue Tile is close to downtown Paia, in which every restaurant is very tasty and there is some fun stores to shop around at. We have nothing but positive things to say about Blue Tile and plan on re-visiting as soon as we can!!!!! Can't go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Suites, great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Alexis and Erik manage a delightful place to stay. Beachside location, lovely rooms, nice ripe local fruit for breakfast. Above all they are charming people and make visitors feel welcome and well cared for. Nothing seems to be too much trouble.
Gerry UK

Room Tip: Ocean view obviously preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Innkeepers, Eric and Alexis were wonderful and very accomodating! The B&B offers a variety of juices, milk, coffe and teas, eggs, muffins/bages/breads, yogurt, and a wonderful assortments of tropical fruits! They also provide complimentary towels, sunscreens, snorkeling gear and beach toys. If something is running low or is gone, don't hesitate to ask. They go to the grocery store almost everyday to replenish the house. Eric and Alexis strive to keep the house fun, yet relaxing and are knowledgeable of the island. You will not be disappointed with your vacation if you stay at this place! I highly recommend staying at the Blue Tile Beach House, especially in the groundfloor suite. It's spacious, has beautiful views, a sauna and a kitchenette! I didn't want to leave :( but I know I will be back, every year, from here on it.

The location of the B&B is a quick 0.5mile walk into the hip, groovy town of Paia. It is also nestled right on the water, on a beach called Tavares (spelling?) Bay. The water here is beautiful and crystal clear. Lots of people swimming, paddle boarding and snorkeling. The bay tends to get a little on the rough side and tide comes in, in late afternoon but it's still manageable to swim. In fact, my 6 year old and I swam here everyday and I was a bit worried because they say North Shore is rough but nothing every happened. All that worry for nothing. My daughter did get swept under one time, but it happened in Lahaina not Tavares Bay. Needless to say we didn't go back to that side. I saw in other reviews that some people complained about the locals but I found that they made the beach that much more interesting and appealing (and I did fair share of beach hoping but Tavares Bay was one of my favorites). The locals on the beach were very friendly and respective. Sure, they bbq'd/partied one day out of the 7 days I stayed there but the smell of the BBQ was mouth watering. After spending a little time on the beach, a conversation sparked with some of the locals and next thing I know, they offered me authentic Hawaiian BBQ food and it was finger licking good! If you do happen to hear their island tunes bumping from their car stereos, just take it in and enjoy it, be apart of their culture. Don't worry the music subsides by sunset.

What else can I say? I absolutely loved this B&B and the town! I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Groundfloor Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Beautiful area right on the beach. Everyone was pleasant and helpful on arrival and room clean and comfortable. The price of 350.00 per night was steep as we were expecting at least coffee and a continental breakfast in the morning. No fruit, coffee, or bagels or muffins or someone to talk to by 8:00 am so we headed out. The other guests just started to gather in the small kitchen as we were leaving and told us we could cook whatever we found in the refrigerator. Guess that's ok if we knew that was the plan, but seemed more like an expensive Hostel than a B & B. Noone from the B & B was around. Too bad as we might have returned for the view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePaia, Manager at Blue Tile Beach House, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha Deb,

I'm sorry that no one was around to greet you. We really strive to introduce ourselves to all of our guests and give a full tour of the house and grounds. We do offer a complementary self-service breakfast that includes eggs, breakfast meat, bread/bagels, coffee, tea, cereal, milk, pancakes, fresh fruit, juice, etc. We have labels in the house refrigerator on our shelves to help guide guests toward the food we provide.

Again, I'm really sorry that you didn't have the best stay possible and hopefully we can find a way to make up for it when you come back to Maui since, as you noticed, the view is truly amazing.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Tile Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tile Beach House

Address: 459 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Tile Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Blue Tile Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tile Beach House Hotel Paia
Blue Tile Beach House Paia, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Tile Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.