We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach for sun bathing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HA Baldwin Beach Park

HA Baldwin Beach Park
Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Paia
Attraction details
pjpowers82
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great beach for sun bathing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The waves are kind of crazy which makes for great surfing, but tough swimming. Beautiful views though. Great morning beach if your on the cruise ship.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This beach is clean and beautiful. Looks like mostly locals, which I preferred. Water is clear and people were just relaxing and enjoying the sun. Great place to spend a few hours or for a "beach day".

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Be careful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a beautiful beach. However, do be careful when swimming. I was swimming to the left of the parking lot. I got taken backwards by a wave while jumping and got dumped onto the sand. The force was so strong that I have tendon and ligament and nerve damage of my left foot. I couldn't walk for 2 weeks. I was floundering in the surf and although there is a lifeguard station, no-one noticed or came to help.I am just glad it wasn't my neck! Luckily, I managed to limp to my husband before I was unable to walk at all. There are far nicer and safer places to swim in Maui especially around Wailea/ South Kihei.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a Great spot. Beautiful views. Lots in the area if you want to leave the beach for lunch etc. there seemed to be a lot of people in the area

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cold winds blow now and then”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is as good as it gets on the north shore beaches. It can often be windy and the vibes are not as friendly as they could be. (Dog police often there in the morning, etc.) I do like swimming though in the protected area to the right as you face the beach from the parking lot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HA Baldwin Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to HA Baldwin Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HA Baldwin Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.