We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paia Inn - Heaven for the Adventurous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paia Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Paia Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Paia Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Clinton, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paia Inn - Heaven for the Adventurous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have returned to the Paia Inn 6 times since our last review. We love the people, we love the location, and we love being on the water. This is an inn, not a hotel. You will not have a pool or pool boys. What you will have is a wonderful experience in one of the world's friendliest towns.

The owner is always improving the inn and is there to welcome guests. The ladies in the office are still the original ones so we have become great friends.

So if you want to stay in a warm, loving place, with access to great shopping, right on the ocean, Paia Inn is perfect. If you are looking for a fancy hotel experience, you will probably be happier in another town on the island.

Room Tip: You might want to ask about the rooms that are not within the inn but in their garden area that lead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    92
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
76
376
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The Paia Inn is a very unique hotel on Maui. We had a huge room with king bed, large sitting area with couch, and kitchenette. It's located right on the main street in Paia. We were in the back section in a separate building -- it was off the "sidewalk" that you follow to get to their private beach. Great views of the bay to watch surfers try their luck. Air conditioned rooms and large screen TV - not that we watched much. Very friendly staff. They are currently remodeling the rear of the main building and it looks like it will enhance the property.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel was perfect for my wife and me on our honeymoon. Paia is a great town if you want to avoid the more touristy parts of the island. There are a bunch of nice restaurants and shops nearby. I saw some complaints that while the hotel was great, it was located right next to a Chevron which took away from the experience. Yes, it is true it is next to a gas station, but the hotel does a GREAT job of secluding the rooms and walkways from the traffic and city feel. The hotel is on a public beach and there is a nice little garden path that leads down to it, but it's nothing extraordinary and the waves in that part of the island are a little rough. The staff at the hotel is EXCELLENT. They make your stay feel like you are a guest in their guest house. They are very knowledgeable about the island and gave some great recommendations on restaurants and things to do. We even called them when we were in a few towns over for recommendations on what to do and they were happy to help. Also, there were little touches like a hand written note and a bottle of wine to celebrate our honeymoon when we got to our room. They also put flowers and chocolate in our room on valentines day (we happened to be there then). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Paia Inn is WONDERFUL - it's currently undergoing renovation and expansion, but that didn't have any effect whatsoever on the peaceful environment and the welcoming staff. What a wonderful hideaway from the world. Can't wait to go back SOON!

Room Tip: Spring for the Guest House with the ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Travelled to Maui for our my honeymoon (August 2013) and stayed at the Guest House in Paia Inn Hotel! Just a few blocks up the road. The price of $500 a night was reasonable for the privacy, 2 bikes, all beach gear, jacuzzi, full kitchen, Internet, movies and everything else the Guest House provided.

The free service laundry, bug spray, suncreen, and bottle of wine, were definitely a wonderful bonus. Made us feel at home, away from home. The best honeymoon we could have asked for. Enjoyed our stay beyond believe. We will be back!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Guest House, if want an romantic geatway with privacy, it will be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in small private house on Lae street about .5 miles from the main hotel. It was lovely, and much bigger than we expected. the hotel staff we extremely friendly and welcoming, and we'd go back in a heartbeat. Even the gardening staff were super friendly! And the beach the hotel is connected to is great. Overall a wonderful honeymoon vacation spot that we'll never forget.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just minutes from the Airport on Maui is PAIA INN, a beachy jungle retreat with a storefront LOBBY where our journey began, frazzled and arriving late in the day it was Christmas Eve -eve,so the twn was windind down but it was full house at the fav Pizza place next door , we parked the Jeep at our own locked gable doorway past a communal morning outside breakfast oasis into our own 40's jungle bungalo compound all locked ,all private and pretty much right on the water ,take your breathe away view and a sweeping drop dead living quarters to excite even the jaded of high-end uber-travellers.....us detoxing from life,nurturing our selves on long couches and outside sheltered rooms, we supped from the organic store across the way , we escaped to our private rooms to watch TV and dress for trips, and our sleeps were all very good ,often making plans to leave the home but then we would break out and change plans and run back to the beach at wim because the home was so close to those waves and all the surfers, we met locals who own on that Beach , the kitchen is properly set up for cooking,and has a central homey feel in the cabin style bungalo, every room has absolutley wonderful detailed finishes like chandeliers, door latches, imported fabrics and millwork with exotic woods, carvings, wall art and more, I felt very happy looking outside with tons of exotic plants cradling the bungalow, there was very good air conditioning , fans , hot water and an outside mini shower to hose off the sand plus a hot tub, we used the huge couches in the outside room the most the big wide stair case to your yard made it feel so open and just beyond the yard was the biggest Banyon tree I have ever seen , the bungalo is right at the end of the beach so private but not desolate LOVE it , ...we got pampered by the hosts..when you have experienced some great stays ..you'll put this one up there high near the top of your let's go back list.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paia Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn Hotel

Address: 93 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, T4B, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Paia Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paia Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.