We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, boutique hotel, great vibe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paia Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paia Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paia Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Paia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nor Cal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“charming, boutique hotel, great vibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Needed a place to stay for one night, on our way home from Lanai. What a great place, staff was very nice, hotel lobby is under some major renovations, can't wait to return and see what they have done. Rooms are clean, beach access is great! Center of town, Anthony's coffee is across the street, flatbread pizza in around the corner, recommend both! We will be back, next time for more than one night.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the street would be loud. FYI. Garden room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    87
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
357
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just finished 1 week at the beach house with my wife,son,daughter and her husband and 19 month old baby.5 restaurants within blocks. We lived on the outdoor porch, big screen TV, view of the ocean! Had a locked enclosed yard with a gate that went directly to the great beach! The sand was great, the water great and it was not crowded! The staff did everything they could to help us, even finding a cooler for us to take on one of our trips for food for the baby. In the master bedroom I opened the sliding doors and closed the screen and listened to the surf all night! We had 5 adults and 1 baby. I would recommend it..new dishwasher, new washer and dryer,microware, 5 lcd TV's, air conditioners in every room..what do you need!

Room Tip: beach house is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After spending a week in Oahu on business, I decided to spend a day / night in Maui before heading back to the Mainland. I had originally planned to stay at the Westin all the way on the other side of the island, but after some advice, decided I was better served to stay a bit closer to the activities I planned on getting into in Maui.

Paia is a interesting little town, mostly a pass through on the "Road to Hana", but after spending 36 hours here, I came to realize that this is a town with a strong community and a laid back vibe. Really great place to wander around and chill - good restaurants and beaches as well.

The Paia Inn is a small boutique hotel right on the Hana highway, my room was a garden suite and was well appointed and comfortable - not as big or lavish as you might expect from the price, but the communal vibe and laid back attitudes made up for it. I knew I was staying in the right place when I got a phone call from the front desk asking if everything was ok - I was running late because of flight delays out of Honolulu, the woman told me she would be there until 8pm and wanted to make sure I had the number of the night bellman so there would be no issue. It was a nice touch.

The location is great if you 1) want to be on the road to Hana, 2) close to the crater and 3) are looking for an "anti-touristy" laid back beach town vibe.

I loved it here and would stay again when I come back to Maui - weather was not to great while I was here, but I was still very comfortable at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for the first part of my honeymoon in April 2013. The hotel is located in Paia on the north shore of the island, and is surrounded by several outstanding shops and restaurants. Additionally, it's close to the airport and town. If you happen to book a suite with a kitchen, you make a quick trip to Walmart and stock up on some basics. It's also a great starting point if you want to explore the Hana Hwy.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful when it came to attractions on the island and navigation. The hotel decor is new and contemporary but not stale or stuffy. The room amenities made it a very comfortable stay, and probably much different than one you'd receive at a big crowded resort. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

A great jumping off point for the Road to Hana or the sunrise bike tour. This little Inn is detail oriented, from the finishing touches in the rooms to the hand written note welcoming you to Paia. We loved this place and wish we could have enjoyed more of its charms. The staff were amazing and incredibly helpful and thoughtful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you have never been to Paia, I highly recommend it as an alternative to the large hotels on the other side of the island. It is a funky town with a lot going on and it is a very low key alternative to the other side of the island. Everything is within walking distance and the restaurants, with the exception of Mama's Fish House, are relatively inexpensive and the twon also a wonderful local grocery store, packed with natural foods. The hotel also has a nice secluded garden, right next to a beach (during the week we walked for an hour and a half, up and down the beach, and encountered perhaps 50 people. We stayed in the two bedroom unit, and while very nice, it is not quite as romantic as the room shown on the website, which appears to be a small house on the property. The staff is VERY FRIENDLY and nice people ... so in my view, this is a much better place to stay than most of the large hotels, and it is less expensive.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the room that we stayed, which was a two bedroom unit and it was quite nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had two days in Maui and this was the perfect location with many great restaurants within walking distance. Paia is close to the airport and conveniently located to other activities around the island.

We stayed in the Garden Suite which was quiet and had plenty of room. The staff was very attentive and accommodating and the property was clean and a short walk to the beach. We found the wine shop down the street and enjoyed a bottle of wine on the patio both evenings before our dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paia Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn Hotel

Address: 93 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Paia Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paia Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.