We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I lived at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paia Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paia Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paia Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Paia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I wish I lived at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is the best! The staff, the rooms, the beach, the shower, the town of Pa'ia. Not to be missed when visiting Maui! Totally worth the splurge in price, you will feel so relaxed and happy here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    87
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
358
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in the 'petite room' for 2 nights - yes, it was small, but this is disclosed on their website so we knew what we were getting and weren't disappointed. The room was clean, comfortable and cosy. We could put our suitcases under the bed to give us more space. The location in the centre of town is great and Flatbread next door does great pizzas. We also went to Momma's Fish House restaurant for dinner, which was brilliant. It's also a great base for the Road to Hana - you get a head start on the traffic and there are a couple of places in town to get lunch before you set off for the day.

The staff were all fantastic - so friendly and helpful with tips and suggestions which maximised our time in Paia. A really nice touch was the handwritten note in our room offering to help us with anything to make our stay enjoyable - a personal touch which shows that they truly want guests to enjoy their stay. On our last day, we had to check out early so we couldn't thank them in person for ensuring we had a lovely time. I only wish we could have spent a bit more time in Paia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The inn is small and quaint with lots of different room types spread on there small property. The ground are nice with small beach in back. It is right in the small town of Paia, which is very nice and walkable(kind of hippy throwback) with lots of good restaurant and stores. Mana Market is a great store for stock up for day trips or a snack or bite. The fish market restaurant on the corner had great food. The cafe across from the Mana Market with the crepes was good also.

Room Tip: We had the rooms above the lobby very small, but adequate. there are plenty of common areas to chill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. The inn is so tastefully decorated. It reminds me of some of the best small hotels in Bali, but with a contemporary Hawaiian touch here. The location of the inn is perfect, very central and walkable everywhere to Paia's numerous restaurants and galleries, and to the great Mana market if you need to buy fruits and other yummy organic food. The inn is a 2 minute walk to the beach behind it. Lovely to stroll and relax there.
The best part of the hotel is the staff. all of them are so friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Due to the wet weather this time of the year, we had some mosquito problems in the room and in the outdoor patio (ground level facing the garden). I was bitten pretty badly. We told the staff, and Travis went to buy mosquito candle lamps for us which was so nice of him. So remember to bring mosquito repellent if you are sensitive to mosquito.
During our entire stay, every staff we met greeted s with a big smile and a readiness to help and to make our stay as comfortable as possible. A big thank you to Tina, Kali, Amanda, Travis, and everyone who works there!

Room Tip: Every room is nice. Even the rooms that face the main road is beautifully decorated and not noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Maui and we wanted to be in a small hotel, no resort..Paia was perfect. The town it's self is small and right out of the 70's, if you love a surf town this is the place.

Paia Inn doesn't look like much from outside, but inside is remodeled, very nice! The staff was friendly, offering help with any sightseeing or places to eat.

Make sure you have breakfast out on the patio, amazing!!! The restaurants in town are great, inexpensive, and really good food, lots of shopping.

We had a wonderful time, loved the Inn and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We LOVE Paia Inn!!! This was our second visit, and we chose to get married right on the beach behind the inn. It is so charming and the people are wonderful. It is not cookie cutter or a "resort". Instead it has everything you need to chill out and relax. The beach is at your backdoor and you can walk to many great restaurants and shops. We've stayed at several high end resorts on Maui and I'd rather spend all my time at Paia Inn!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Paia Inn in February 2013. While the majority of our Maui vacation was to be in other parts of Maui, we selected the Paia Inn as a good starting locale on our first day to not travel so far from the airport upon landing, experience this charming town (at least for a day) and get an early start on the Road to Hana the next morning. Paia, as it turns out, is charming - but also quite small. The entire town is essentially one intersection with shops and stores sprinkled down each of the streets - and the Paia Inn is in the heart of the action. Very unassuming exterior, but when you enter the Hotel (which you do through the back), the interior is very hip, stylish and clean.

We checked in and our room was located on the floor directly above the check-in desk. We were the first to arrive - so we were given the choice of several rooms on that floor, but room 1 was said to be quieter than others. As room 1 looked fine (it was also not facing the front of the hotel, so sensible that it would've been quieter), so we didn't bother to look at the others. The room was fine - nicely appointed, clean, comfortable bed. It was, as other reviews have stated, quite small. And, while there was a high window (high, because we're short) in the bathroom which projected natural light into the room - there was no directly accessible window with a view. That would've been a problem at an ocean side hotel - but in downtown Paia - no issue. In terms of value, it's a bit of a pricey stay for the room size and modest hotel grounds and facilities (hence, the four stars) - but it fully met my expectations based on the convenient location.

The beach is located down an interesting, partially bamboo lined path which winds it's way past the other buildings on the Paia Inn's property. At the end of the path is a grass area with lawn chairs, outside showers and a mini bar (which may have been staffed at busier times, but wasn't when we were there). Through a gate - which locks behind you (accessible with your room key) - is the beach. I had seen enough varying reviews on Paia's beaches (not great for swimming/sunbathing, windy, etc.) to have relatively low expectations. While the not suitable for swimming part seemed true, the beach itself was beautiful - soft, silky sands and beautiful waves. (see photo)

Finally, many reviews have complemented the staff - in particular, the young lady's who oversaw the front desk. All staff members were super friendly, accommodating and charming - and they were especially so.

Tip: If you're taking the Road to Hana on your stay - ask for their great print-out of the sights to see. It was very helpful.

Room Tip: Noise seemed to be an issue in other reviews, so room 1 was a decent, quiet option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paia Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn Hotel

Address: 93 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, T4B and Hotels.com so you can book your Paia Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paia Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.