We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class All The Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paia Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paia Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paia Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Paia
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“First Class All The Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I can't say enough about this place. We stayed in the 3 Bedroom beach house. Perfect place for 3 couples or a family. The bedrooms are spacious and all furnished with AC, flatscreens, and really comfortable beds. Living Area is huge, kitchen is furnished for gourmet cooking, and the patio area with the giant flat screen TV, BBQ and Hot Tub is off the chain and where we spent most of our time.

The lawn outside has a gate that opens up to Paia Beach, and it's a gem. Most people go to Lahaina but people in the know go to Paia. The town has great restaurants and shopping and that's where most people stay as evidenced the the pristine and almost depopulated beach. We'd walk out there in the morning and be the only people there. We're surfers and kiters and the waves in Paia Bay were pretty sweet at least 1/2 of the week we were there. In the afternoon we'd go to Kitebeach, which is only 20mins away.

The Paia Inn has excellent staff. They are sharp, on it, and genuinely care about your experience. They are also all really cool and appreat to really dig working there; I never got the feeling they were forcing themselves to be hospitable - they are just really nice people. The cooks serve the best breakfast we found in all the town (by far), and the owner was on site several times checking in with guests and saying hi.

Basically I am really bummed we had to leave and jealous of you if you are going, but it's an amazing place and you are going to have a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    87
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
357
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at a few places while in Maui, ending our trip in Paia. Paia is a hippie surf town with a lot of personality. If you are looking to go to a resort and never leave this is not the place for you. Paia is for exploring and experiencing and most is with walking distance and set you up for a head start on the road to Hana or the Haleakala Crater and is close to Kahului airport. While each place we had stayed prior were wonderful in their own right, none compared to Paia Inn. We had been postponed due to Hurricane Sandy and the staff had been kind and understanding throughout the whole ordeal of canceling and rebooking. When we arrived for our last 3 days in paradise, we knew immediately we would we back. After having stayed in Wailea and Kaanipali we knew that this place was totally our speed. The staff is wonderful and the owner Michael was very kind and upgraded to the ocean view suite from our garden view suite. The room (12) was spectacular and well worth what they charge. Smart move on upgrading us as we have already enlisted our couple friends to return and share this 3 bedroom with us next year. The room has a great kitchen and living room area, but the lanai takes the cake - with a daybed, rocking chairs, and a table and a view of the ocean. We could have stayed there the whole time. It is a much more relaxed environment and the staff takes service seriously with a soft touch. The breakfast area was great grab a coffee and go or stay and have a delicious breakfast made to order by the chef. You may have to wait a minute, but the whole point of traveling halfway around the world is not to rush. The beach is semi private and the winter surf was rough and according to the staff is calmer in the summer/fall, a little walk takes you to Baldwin beach and you can see turtles floating about! They have a little lawn away from the beach if you like to sunbathe in private and it has a grill area too. They provide chairs, boogie boards and snorkel gear, everything you would need for a day at the beach. This place just has a little bit of magic that is lacking in the mega resorts and over developed other parts of the island. You know you have found somewhere special when you are plotting to come back before you have left. I only wish there was a spa or small pool to go to when the surf was rough, but that was far from a deal breaker. We will definitely be back. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We (two adults, two 11 1/2 year old children) stayed in the three bedroom house from October 12-16, 2012. We would have stayed longer, but it was booked.

I made the reservation directly with the hotel. All staff members were welcoming, helpful, kind and warm. They treated us, including the children, with consideration and respect.

The house was perfect for our needs. The kids loved everything about it, but we all especially enjoyed being right on the beach. We went walking first thing in the morning before breakfast and the beach was almost empty. The waves are a bit rough this time of year, but we all swam and played in the water too.

We had breakfast at the hotel just once. We had waffles, eggs, french toast, fresh juice, etc. Delicious, but allow extra time if there is anyone else there. Relax and savor. We females had to dash to a manicure appointment and just made it!

We loved it here and would stay again. It's a popular choice, so plan ahead.

Room Tip: The three bedroom house is just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in Paia Inn for a planned Kiteboarding trip, and received an absolutely phenomenal experience at the inn. Every room is designed with such detail and there is plenty of space. Paia Inn has a very Zen like design, giving a sense of tranquility....the food is fantastic, I highly recommend the egg white omelette with the zuchhini and the spinach. The views are stunning, and the staff is accomodating. I would return to Maui just for Paia Inn alone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Paia is a great town on a great island. The Paia Inn mixes Hawaii plantation style with Balinese and Thai influence. Great breakfast. Convenient parking. Everything walking distance. Perfect for the alternative vacation. On our visit, Jaws was breaking, Virgin KiteJam was in town, and surfers and body boarders were enjoying Paia Bay. If you want mainland nightlife, tourist shuttles, kiddie slides, stick to the other parts of Maui. If you are ready to slow down, get healthy and explore Hana, upcountry and North shore beaches, this is a great launching point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this property on two separate occassions during our vacation. We stayed in the Junior Suite garden view for several days and then came back and stayed in one of the one bedroom suites for 2 days. The garden suite was our favorite. The property is on the north side of the main highway in downtown Paia. Beach access is wonderful and the rooms were amazing. We had a little trouble with the adjacent property noise in our one bedroom suite but the management at the Paia Inn worked with us and our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
551 reviews 551 reviews
233 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
484 helpful votes 484 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

There were six units in the original Paia Inn, but success has grown the six to fifteen units. We haven't seen the other units, but based on reviews of garden view rooms, we feel room 15 (and possibly #14) is not as competitively priced as the other units. It's small, the air conditioner blows over the bed, and there is no view of a garden. There are some chairs and tables outside, but they haven't been dusted or cleaned in a long time, so it's unlikely anyone would sit in them. It's next to the walkway to other units, so you can hear conversations of all who pass. When we were there, the cord on the hair dryer was so short that you have to bend your head down to use it. When we asked if we could be moved, there was no room at the inn: all of the other rooms were full. We couldn't be angry because all staff are helpful, athletic, and adorable young ladies. So it seems that the only time to ask for another garden view room besides room 15 is when you book. If you are not staying at Paia Inn for the beach experience, for comparison purposes, check the rate for a standard room at the new Marriott Courtyard at Kahului airport which is not far from the public parking lot at Paia. Paia is a nice town, but most people can see the town and its shops in a couple of hours, max.

Room Tip: If you book a garden view room, you might mention that you don't want room #15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paia Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn Hotel

Address: 93 Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Paia Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paia Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.