We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sunriders

Maui Sunriders
71 Baldwin Ave C1/C2, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
+1 866-500-2453
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Sunriders offers self-paced Haleakala bike tours of the volcano in Maui, HI, including Haleakala sunrise bike tours and daily Maui bike rentals. With our self-paced bike rides, guests have the freedom to stop along the way at the many unique shops and restaurants in the charming towns on the route or just stop to enjoy the beauty of Haleakala. With our self-paced Haleakala sunrise bike rides, you can immerse yourself in the beauty and serenity of Upcountry Maui without the cumbersome restrictions of a large group.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
St. George
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Thinking of choosing Maui Sunriders?
Pros- Self guided tour down the crater, nice and comfortable bikes, beautiful and fun ride down, they equip you with gear that includes gloves, helmet, rain/wind suits, and a small backpack.
Cons- freezing cold temperatures at crater, ride goes too fast, no breakfast
We loved the ride down. The temperature is cold, but the wind chill makes it freezing. Wear a wind breaker and a sweat shirt. Unreal views on top of the clouds.
We stopped at Sandalwood cafe in Kula and were ttreated to a great breakfast. We also stopped in Mackawao and window shopped. Before we knew it we were in Paia by noon.
Our guide going up was fun and told us a little about the area. Not sure how much was true....
We had a great time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    39
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We originally booked the 9:00 summit tour but that was cancelled last minute do to lack of interest (we were the only ones that wanted to do that tour) we were told we could still do the express tour that day, so that is what we choose to do. They refunded us the difference between the two and we were on our way. Natalie was our guide on the way up, very informative and bubbly personality, very nice. Started raining as soon as we started down the mountain, the rain gear they provide is very nice. The unguided part is what made us pick this tour, so we could take our time, stopped for lunch in one town, stopped for a doughnut and shopping in another, what ever you wanted to do. We went by a school down towards the bottom, and they had a portable radar set up and we were both speeding a little, 20mph was the limit. You do go faster on the top section, the disk brakes work real well as most of the corners are 15mph up top. Very nice tour would recommend to any one.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome Guides, Awesome Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great overall experience. Bring cold weather gear (below freezing temps for 30 minutes) that layers. The guide was friendly, enthusiastic, and knowledgable. Highly reccomend to all who want to do this. Stop at Kula Lodge for breakfast and expect to take all morning and early afternoonif you want to explore Makawao and Paia to the full extent. Flatbread pizza is awesome in paia for those hungry for good pizza.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This company offers unescourted tours of Halekala crater. We signed up for the sunrise tour. Their prices are lower than others as they don't pick up at your hotel and there is no guide down the mountain but don't worry you really don't need a guide. There's only one way down!
Remy was our driver. He met us at the shop, fitted us for bikes and gear and then drove us to the top of the crater. He pointed out markers and places of interest so that we could stop on the way back down. He was very knowledgeable and very nice.
We did not see the sunrise as it was cold, and foggy at the top.
Bummer!
The ride back down was a blast. You can go really fast or slow down, your choice.
We stopped in Makawao on the way back for delicious donuts and breakfast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have chosen this unguided tour time and again (8 times) for the freedom that an unguided tour provides. Again, we were treated very well and given an enlightening narrative on the van ride up Haleakala - this time by Joe, the wonderful tour guide and outfitter. Even though it rained on us throughout the first half of the ride to Makawao we enjoyed the adventure immensely! My husband and I always recommend Maui Sunriders to all our friends that vacation on Maui and I would recommend it to anyone reading this as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Sunriders also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Maui Sunriders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sunriders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.