We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfers and Windsurfers Abound” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ho'okipa Beach Park

Ho'okipa Beach Park
Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96768
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Paia
Type: Beaches, Parks, State Parks
Activities: Wind-surfing, Surfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Ideal for surfers and windsurfers.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Surfers and Windsurfers Abound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

There was so much action with the surfers and winsurfers doing flips and reaching amazing speeds. I understand the waves will reach heights of 70 feet in December. The heights were much less than that during October, but still fun to watch.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    63
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Actually we just stop by to see the Maui north shore, Ko'okipa Beach Park from a top or maybe overlook?. The beach look nice with mix turquoise color even from the top faraway we can see very absolute clear also mix activity on the beach such as swimming, snorkeling, surfing, wind surfing even some family do picnicking. The beach had everything from showers, restrooms, tables, etc for people use after that activity. Free parking & one way to beach so don't miss turn.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Turtles, surfing, windsurfing, sunbathing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is one of the best beaches on the North Shore of Maui. We love watching the windsurfers, surfers, swimming, snorkeling, and people watching. Flush toilets, showers, garbage cans, picnic tables all make this beach a nice spot to spend the day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Turtle beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stopped here twice during our vacation. The first time we waded in the shallow pools and watched the surfers, the second we noticed a large turtle sunning on the beach, surrounded by people but without a care. A wildlife representative was there and told us that this turtle suns himself there every afternoon and tolerates the people well (though they ask that people give him some space).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Action Packed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We always go to watch the wind/kite surfers or surfers at this action packed beach. This trip we also got to see a monk seal that had stopped to take a break on his travels. They rope them off for their safety but we got great shots of him!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho'okipa Beach Park also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Ho'okipa Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho'okipa Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.