We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ho'okipa Beach Park

Ho'okipa Beach Park
Hana Highway, Paia, Maui, HI 96768
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$130*
and up
Maui Hana Coast Day Trip
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Wind-surfing, Surfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ideal for surfers and windsurfers.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Actually we just stop by to see the Maui north shore, Ko'okipa Beach Park from a top or maybe overlook?. The beach look nice with mix turquoise color even from the top faraway we can see very absolute clear also mix activity on the beach such as swimming, snorkeling, surfing, wind surfing even some family do picnicking. The beach had everything from showers, restrooms, tables, etc for people use after that activity. Free parking & one way to beach so don't miss turn.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    116
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Turtles, surfing, windsurfing, sunbathing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is one of the best beaches on the North Shore of Maui. We love watching the windsurfers, surfers, swimming, snorkeling, and people watching. Flush toilets, showers, garbage cans, picnic tables all make this beach a nice spot to spend the day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Turtle beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stopped here twice during our vacation. The first time we waded in the shallow pools and watched the surfers, the second we noticed a large turtle sunning on the beach, surrounded by people but without a care. A wildlife representative was there and told us that this turtle suns himself there every afternoon and tolerates the people well (though they ask that people give him some space).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Action Packed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We always go to watch the wind/kite surfers or surfers at this action packed beach. This trip we also got to see a monk seal that had stopped to take a break on his travels. They rope them off for their safety but we got great shots of him!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Huge waves, great people/surfer watching, big turtles on the beach, and awesome exploration of the beach/rocks/shallows adjacent to the park. This is a must do/see and can be done in 30 mins to an hour before you visit Mama's Fish House. A great scenic point!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho'okipa Beach Park also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Ho'okipa Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho'okipa Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.