We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nalu Kai Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nalu Kai Lodge to your Saves list
Nalu Kai Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   18 Nalu Place, Paia, Maui, HI 96779   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Paia
Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and Friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice little lodge,well situated in the centre of Paia which is a good location to discover the island of Maui, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, very nice garden hawaiian style with barbeque place available for the guests!!!. If your looking for a nice place with clean rooms this is the ideal accomodation for you, especially if you're travelling with friends or with your partner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our little Lodge. We're glad you liked it and pride ourselves on having exceptionally clean rooms and grounds for our guests to enjoy. We love having international visitors to our famed North Shore and welcome you again the next time you visit Maui. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    27
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
40
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights here. We found it was a great place to stay in Paia, but don't expect much comfort. The room was small, almost all taken up by the bed. But we spent most of our time at the lodge outside in the common area (which we usually had to our own). The bed was good and clean, just like the shower.

The location is great. Just a short walk from te beach and just across the street for some nice resaurants. And for me the best thing was that is was just around the corner of Maui Cyclery, the best place to rent a bike to ride up Haleakala.

The lodge is right at the very busy intersection of Paia, but much to my surprise we hardly heard any noise from that.

The only downside was that there is no door for the toilet, just a curtain. So make sure you are ok with your roommate's odors before booking.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

One thing I lke about Trip Advisor is the ability to share information about small operations that may not otherwise get attention. This lodge does a great job of knowing what is important to a good stay and doing those things very well. It is minimalist - no air conditioning and the bath room is separated by a curtain. But it is super clean and creative in approach and furnishings. It has pretty common areas that encourage interaction between the guests. I loved sleeping with the windows open and waking to the sounds of the birds and the ocean. The sheets were good and the bed was very comfortable. I was there in off season so noise or parking was not a problem. Paia is a cute little town with good places to eat and awesome egg-free, dairy-free gelato. I only stayed two nights but I could have easily spent two weeks here doing nothing.
The internet didn't work in my room, so I had to go to the common areas to plan my day. I think other rooms were fine though, just something that needs adjustment.
Great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were charming and clean. The room was perfect size. The lodge is in a perfect location. I enjoyed my stay and enjoyed the little town of Paia. My trip to Maui was wonderful. I would come back to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Nalu Kai Lodge has a personal touch that's missing from the resorts on the south side of the island. If you're looking for a more relaxed place to stay, and don't mind not being right on the beach, this is a great option. From the web site, I had expected one step up from a hostel, but it was much nicer than that - well decorated, clean, and comfortable, with great attention to detail and a friendly and considerate clientele. We stayed in Room 6 and didn't experience noise problems - at least, not on the order we'd been led to expect. Note that the bathroom is curtained off (no door), so if you're sharing a room, make sure it's with someone you're pretty comfortable with. What would take this place up a notch? Real coffee and a few more kitchen amenities in the common area. Other than that, it's perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've never posted a review on TripAdvisor...really...but my awesome stay at the Nalu Kai Lodge has compelled me to do so.

My friend and I really enjoyed the Lodge…as well as the town of Paia. This is the place if you're looking for a charming, laid-back, non-resort Maui experience.

room/lodge – Cute, simple, clean, affordable. It came with two beach towels which was great and a little fridge so we went to the local market and filled it with snacks. The caretakers were incredibly friendly & helpful. There’s also a grill (which we unfortunately didn't have time to use) and a washer-drier (which definitely came in handy after a muddy drive to Hana).

noise – Yes, you do get a fair bit of street noise in the morning at least from our room (# 5) so if you’re a light sleeper then this might not be the place for you. I’m not bothered by it, but just in case, I used earplugs & that did the trick.

parking – Parking is limited. We got on-site parking only once in our stay over 5 nights, but a free public parking lot was just a short walk away

the town – What an eccentric, quirky little town! I loved the little shops, the restaurants/bars, the plentiful coffee shops and particularly the people…just a really friendly open vibe. Paia...being centrally located...also felt like a great base of operations to go out and explore the different parts of Maui. And after being out and about all day, it was nice to come back to Paia and wind down at a local establishment.

beaches – The beaches around Paia can be windy. Most folks surf (in its many forms) or watch surfing at them, BUT if your aim is to just chill out and sunbathe, check out the beach at Paia Bay. The eastern most part of that beach…it’s kind of in this little elbow…gets very little wind. It’s a magic spot.

If I’m ever lucky enough to get back to Maui, I plan to stay at the Lodge again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Mahalo for taking the time to give us such a wonderfully written and thorough review! We very much enjoyed having you at the Lodge and look forward to your next visit to our little bit of Paradise.
Aloha,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Amazing stay! Beautifully kept lodge, very friendly helpful staff to make reservations. Definitely stay here!!!! Ill go back hopefully sooner rather than later. The room/ bathroom and kitchen were absolutely gorgeous. The lodge give you the ability to walk to the beach, grocery store, and the entire paia town!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaluKai, Manager at Nalu Kai Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the glowing review! We're happy you enjoyed your time here and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Aloha,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nalu Kai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalu Kai Lodge

Address: 18 Nalu Place, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nalu Kai Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Nalu Kai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nalu Kai Hotel Paia
Nalu Kai Lodge Paia, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nalu Kai Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.