We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time travel, & Cream puffs to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of T Komoda Store & Bakery Incorporated

T Komoda Store & Bakery Incorporated
3674 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-7500
808-572-7261
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Makawao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Time travel, & Cream puffs to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is time-travel. I fear when I next go to Maui they won't be there, as everyone working was >60 yrs old. The cream puffs, even frozen are SO good, but even better were the yellow buns w/white cross on top & raisins (name?). We did not eat our goodies until later, or we would have bought everything in sight. Look around...in the back was a very ancient little lady folding the iconic white pastry boxes stamped simply "cream puffs".

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    49
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Donuts on a Stick? Yes, and they are delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiancé and I came across this bakery while exploring Makawao and we are glad we did! We first tried long johns stuffed with vanilla pudding - and when I say stuffed I mean it! I don't know how they got so much pudding in that donut - it was actually heavy! And of course delicious!! After trying the long johns, we decided to pick up some of their famous stick donuts for the next day's breakfast. Not sure why the donut is on a stick but it sure tastes great! If you find yourself in the Makawao area and you like donuts - and who doesn't?!?! - definitely stop by the bakery and treat yourself! Unless you are on a diet, then totally avoid because you won't be able to resist them!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS! worth getting there early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

delicious sweets. fantastic breads. my daughter will never want a regular donut again. she wants the "doughnuts on a stick" (malasadas). it's impressive the variety and volume of goods made at this little shop.

service/decor- not much to speak of. but you're there for the sweets! :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“an Island tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When people come from other islands, Komoda pastries are what they are told to bring back to Honolulu with them. Famous malasadas, pies, donuts, etc. Closed on Wed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Yum,Yum,Yummmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I have been here twice now in the past 2 weeks.( Not diet food!) LOL -Their stick donuts, long johns, cream puffs, cinnamon snails, guava malasadas are sooo good. Lets just say everything we tried was sinfully delicious. We heeded advice and went there early.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T Komoda Store & Bakery Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to T Komoda Store & Bakery Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T Komoda Store & Bakery Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.