We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and drinks, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stopwatch Bar & Grill

Stopwatch Bar & Grill
1127 Makawao Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768-9447
(808) 572-1380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 23 Restaurants in Makawao
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

On our first day in rainy Maui, we stopped in at the Stopwatch Bar and Grill for lunch. Our party of 9 enjoyed great local beers and cocktails, plus soft drinks for the kids. The food was excellent, but the best thing was the service from the Bar Manager, who seemed to be the only person there to serve food and drinks, plus the Chef/ Cook in the kitchen. Mahalo for a nice, relaxed meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great Place To Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch and a drink. My wife claims it was the best mai tai she had on the island. Frank the manager was extremely helpful in giving us directions and the burger was excellent.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dry burger and lukewarm fries”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch after biking down the volcano. All four of us ordered the special, Aloha Burger. Our expectations exceeded the delivered product. One of us ordered the burger "well" the other 3 "medium". All ended up to be "well" and the shoestring fries were lukewarm. The place was also short staffed with the only waitress handling all tables and the bar. She was doing the best she could and thanked us for our patience more than once. I think we caught them on an off day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great pub for some drinks and grub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stopped in the Stopwatch after a great morning of Ziplining. The Local beers were nice and cold and the food was very good. All eight of us enjoyed the lunch food wise and the atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawai'i
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Average bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We ended our night at Third Friday Makawao here. They had a band (Annie & The Orphanz) playing who sang okay covers.

ATMOSPHERE:
It was someone's home that got turned into a bar according to my friend. Simple open-air structure with a nice size bar and outdoor seating on the back porch. There's a small parking lot in front and a big municipal barking in the back.

SERVICE:
There was only 1 server for the entire bar. It took a while for her to come around but after that she was constantly checking on us. Very friendly lady.

OVERALL:
Nice place to hangout and have a few brews. They also offer karaoke on certain nights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stopwatch Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stopwatch Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stopwatch Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.