We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Maui Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui
Save
You added Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui to your Saves list
Villa & Cottages, Olinda Road, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768 (Formerly known as Olinda Retreat & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
“Perfect Maui Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

My new husband and I spent our week-long honeymoon in Maui, 4 days upcountry and three days at a beach resort. Without question, the time spent in the upcountry at the studio on the grounds of The Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui were by far superior. It was absolute magic waking up in such a beautiful space, the surrounding windows open to the lush valley and ocean front beyond. The lovely sounds of birds, and the indescribable smell of the property were sensory experiences we will not soon forget! The space is small, but perfect and very functional. We ate breakfast and dinner every day on the property, making meals in the kitchen and enjoying them on the deck. It was a perfect place to be alone, and away from the bustle of the rest of the world. We took day trips to the surrounding beaches, drove the 'Road to Hana' and used Tom's Barefoot to book an amazing zipline adventure at the Piholo Ranch which is just a couple of miles away from the property. I think it is a wonderful "jumping off point" for exploring the eastern side of Maui. The nearby towns of Makaweo and Paia were by far my favorite on the island, filled with lovely people and cute unique boutiques a world away from the typical trinket shops more common near the resorts. In short, we would love to go back to this place, and as much as we enjoyed the studio, we might have to upgrade to the villa since we plan to bring back other family to share this lovely place!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olindaretreat, Manager at Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope that the memory of the smells and sounds are with you still, taking you back to your relaxing time in Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed here for the first 6 days of our honeymoon. It was a perfect way to start things off. Doreena was a wonderful host. The cottages are just spectacular, beyond words. And the view was stunning...we woke up every day in awe. We stayed in the romantic cottage and cannot do the place justice with words. It was clean, cozy, intimate, comfortable and just a dream. Our only very minor complaint was that the king sized bed was too soft and a little on the lumpy side. However, it's possible that if you like a soft bed, you'd find it just right. The tranquility of this spa's location is just breathtaking. The sunsets are better than you can dream. The pool and hot tub visits made us feel like we had our own private slice of heaven. We both had massages our first day and it was just heavenly. The perfect way to relax into our honeymoon. We would not hesitate to give this spa the highest recommendation to any one and we hope to be back as soon as possible. The only other caveat we have for visitors is its location. The winding road can be difficult until you get used to it and Makawao/Olinda is a little off the beaten path. While very close to the lively little town of Paia, it's a bit farther than other major locations. Still for this secluded gem, for this price, it was absolutely worth it. Better than staying on the beach for us, because of the absolute peace and quiet. You need a car in Maui anyway, so with quick drive a beautiful beach is never more than a 20 minute drive away at most! Thank you so much Doreena and all the staff at your spa. You made our first few days in Hawaii magical.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We have stayed at the Aromatherapy Foundation twice. Last year, my husband and I stayed in the romantic cottage during our honeymoon. We loved it so much that we came back this year with my parents, brothers and our new baby! This place truly makes you feel that some places on earth are closer to heaven. Its located upcountry, far from the beautiful, but more touristy beaches, the air is cooler and mistier, there are rolling pastures and white horses, shimmery rainbows, walking forests, lavender farms, ranches. The foundation is perched on the side of the volcano, just a few miles north of the charming, cowboy chic village of Makawao. Roosters begin the chorus of animals that wake you each morning, greeted with a sweeping view of the island, ocean on each side, perfect for enjoying a cup of coffee and deciding which part of the island to explore each day. Tom and Doreena are wonderful, genuine hosts, accompanied by their fluffy little pooch, Cujo. The accomodations are artfully and lovingly decorated, with state of the art kitchen, private swimming pool, access to fragrant gardens with lemon trees, wonderful flowers and hidden sculpture. The value is tremendous for the caliber and luxury of the quarters. The romantic cottage is perfect for a couple (there was even a mother-daughter staying there while we were there) and the grand villa is amazing for a group of friends/extended family etc. The whole experience is so wonderful, transporting and magical, that you will likely be searching for real estate by the time you leave!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

During our 2 week trip to Hawaii, we stayed in five different places. The Octagon Studio at the Aromatherapy Foundation was absolutely the best of all. I wish we had made plans to stay longer. The Studio is so private, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The view from the deck can't be beat. No rush to wake up and look for a breakfast place, since you can prepare your own in the kitchen and then just sit out on the deck. I've never seen my husband so relaxed. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Couldn't resist booking this place because of the rave reviews, which it deserves.You can really leave the hustle and bustle of the island behind. The cottage and the views are fantastic. Views seem to be best in the afternoon. The peninsula tended to cloud over at sunrise and sunset, at least when we were there. The scent of wild geranium wafting up is exquisite. Very comfortable bed and tiny but modern kitchen. Apparently there were also people in the adjacent cottage and the villa, though we didn't hear or notice anyone else! We stayed two nights here, which was about right (could have easily used a third but it was booked). It's a bit windy going up and down Olinda, and I don't know that I would want a whole week or several days of using it as a base to see other areas of the island. I am so glad we stayed in Upcountry and got that experience of the region--don't miss it. I appreciated it (and Hana) even more after experiencing Lahaina and Ka'anapali, which do not hold the allure of this side of the island...If you plan to self-cater here, I recommend stopping at the Whole Foods or elsewhere in Kahului, because Makawao just has a basic general store that's heavy on the chips and dip-type stuff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

If you are reading this then I guess you are probably already tempted. I would whole heartedly advise you to book. We spent 3 days here during our honeymoon, it was one of our favourite places on Maui. We stayed in the Octagon cottage which was snug, with a mini kitchen lovely balcony and a gas BBQ as well as wifi which was great to research what to do next on the island. It is up the in hills so when it got too hot on the beach it was a 20 minute drive back and a drop of about 5 degrees which was often a welcome relief. One of the closest villages is Paia which I think is the nicest villages to visit on Maui. If you are looking for somewhere romantic and tucked away from all the other tourists this is a fantastic place to book.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We found our favorite spot in Upcountry, Maui. It's a real gem tucked away in the woods, off the winding road of Olinda just a short drive from the town of Makawao.

VIEWS - The views from here are indescribable. On the day of our arrival, my wife and I went speechless on the lanai of our Romantic Cottage as we watched the sunset over the ocean beyond the coastline. Next morning, we woke up to a magnificent view of the pastoral Upcountry, where herds of cattle were roaming and birds were singing to start a new day. And we were able to enjoy these views from anywhere in our cottage! Right from our bed without even getting up, from our couch in the living room, dining area, and on the two separate lanais on the ground and second floors.

AIR - An ensemble of aroma from natural plants growing on the grounds is so soothing and vitalizing that you cannot help breathing deeply while you are here.

WATER and SUN - Getting pampered in the heated whirlpool, having a dip in the adjacent salt-watered pool big enough for swimming or just floating, and sunbathing on the pool deck with a 180-degree panoramic view. What else do you need??

ALMOST HOME - All comforts of home are here. The cottage is perfectly maintained and well equipped. The gas-operated fireplace is actually very useful after dark when it gets chilly. The kitchen and BBQ utilities were more than sufficient for us, and the bed was very comfortable.

If you wish for more, TREATMENT - Highly recommended!

Doreena and Tom, thank you for letting us stay at your beautiful cottage!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui

Address: Villa & Cottages, Olinda Road, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768 (Formerly known as Olinda Retreat & Spa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Discover Aroma' at the Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui's aromatic botanical educational estate and farm. Our registered 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization provides more than just a beautiful place to stay but equally important provides you with an educational opportunity to experience the world of aromatherapy on an aromatic botanical teaching farm. The prestigious upcountry Villa, Cottage and Studio with magnificent views of Maui and the surrounding oceans are located on an aromatic botanical plantation, just twenty-five minutes from the airport and the North Shore beaches. The majestic views and fresh mountain air at 3000 feet distinguish this private sanctuary from the usual tourist facilities on the 'Valley Isle'. 'Discover Aroma' Program includes: * Overnight accommodation at the Grand Villa, Romantic Cottage or Octagon Studio.* Access to explore and learn from our Beauty & Wellness Teaching Gardens.* Use of the in-house diffuser and essential oil set to explore fragrant and healthy essential oils as a tool for emotional and physical well-being.* Free attendance to a scheduled on-property Aromatic Distillation Demonstration. * An exciting opportunity to participate in our 5-minutes per day Scientific Survey, recording your specific impressions of Lavender (Lavendula angustifolia) essential oil while sitting quietly. * Use of the Introductory Aromatics Course providing a well-rounded introduction to the benefits and pleasures of aromatherapy.* Use of the books in the Aromatherapy Lending Library.* Special pricing for Aromatherapy Massage and Body Care application sessions.Nestled on the west facing slopes of Haleakala this Upcountry Estate evokes a unique sense of peace, serenity and privacy. Just down the hill, provisions, great restaurants and shopping are available in the village town of Makawao. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aromatherapy Foundation Of Maui Hotel Makawao
Aromatherapy Foundation Of Maui Makawao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.