We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Building Block for Great Memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui
Save
You added Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui to your Saves list
Villa & Cottages, Olinda Road, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768 (Formerly known as Olinda Retreat & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
“A Building Block for Great Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Grand Villa at the Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui was chosen for our summer family vacation spanning three generations with age ranging from 11 to 75 years old.

The house is very well equipped including a large kitchen with ample working space; 60” plus large screen TV; tons of fresh linens and towels; coolers, chairs and toys for the beach; use of washer/dryer and much more.

Although the house is up country, it is actually very centrally located meaning we could reach the shopping in Kahului (Costco and Wal Mart) and Paia in less than 30 minutes; the beaches in Wailea in less than an hour and Kapalua in just over an hour.

The magnificent sight, the sound of nature and the aroma all combined with the comfort offered by the house thus enabling each family member to fully enjoy our time together.

Being able to truly live in the moment - are great memories not made of these?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olindaretreat, Manager at Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you Mervyn, we all enjoyed meeting you and your family and hope to see all of you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Great views, great hosts, great place....all the things you want in a pleasant place to stay.

Justin and Ellen - Seattle, WA

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olindaretreat, Manager at Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you, we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I went on my honeymoon. We loved it and (after three days) didn't want to leave. We had some trouble finding the foundation, but once we got there, it was remarkable. The panoramic views dazzled us, the room vastly exceeded my expectations, and the grounds were very nice. We slept great, and it was a terrific change of pace from the tourist-strewn (but admittedly gorgeous) beaches. The apartment has a nice kitchen, so we picked up food (at the stellar Mana Foods in Pa'ia [sp?]) and then cooked at . . . I almost said "home." The apartment felt that way.

Two nits: the internet worked with a cable, but not as wireless. Second, Doreena recommended Tom Barefoot's travel services to us without disclosing that they were married. I'm sure that Tom is great, but such relationships should be disclosed to potential consumers. Still: a WONDERFUL, comfortable, intimate place, and Doreena was great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olindaretreat, Manager at Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, we appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Our first trip to Maui, and we didn't want the typical Maui resort experience. Found this place on the web, and am so happy we stayed here. We completely enjoyed our 7 day stay in the octagon studio. It felt like a little nest in the trees. The main house and 1-bed cottage are bigger with more ammenities, but we loved how cosy and private the studio was. The kitchen is very small, and there is no bathtub. The eating area is also very small. If you want more space, consider the main house or the cottage - they look great.

There's a long list of reasons why we loved it here:

- Cooler than being on the coast - probably 10 degrees cooler at least, which suited us perfectly
- Incredibly quiet and peaceful - all you hear are the birds, cows and roosters
- Great walk in the pine forest just up the road
- Amazing views of the valley
- Private deck for reading and eating
- Lovely smells from all the plants used in the aromatherapy oils
- Beautiful garden with orange, lemon and avocado trees
- Hot-tub overlooking the valley with sunset views
- Nice king-sized bed - great sleeps
- Allows for quicker trips to Hana and Haleakula
- Spa is great and uses lots of the aromatherapy oils

We stayed for 5 nights at a condo in Kaanapali at the start of our holiday. It was nice, but most places in Maui are busy, crowded and hot. If you are looking for beach and nightlife, then AFM isn't the place. The road up Olinda from Makawao is twisty and not easy in the dark. Makawao is about 10 mins down the hill and is the nearest town, but limited eating options. It's not far to Kahului (20 mins), but you will need to drive more than staying at a resort.

If you stay here, some tips:

- Pay close attention to the instructions provided to get here. Its a long way up Olinda, with no signs, and the road is steep and twisty.
- The Mexican restaurant in Makawao (Polli's) is good but busy. Go for happy hour.
- Makawao has galleries and shopping but few gocery stores (there is a healh food store that's good), Pukalani has bigger and more grocery stores
- Paia and the north coast is probably a 20 min drive down the mountain, if you want to get to the beach. The beaches near Paia are great and not as crowded as Wailea, Kaanapali or Kihei
- When it clouds over or rains in the afternoon (and it will - you're at 3000 ft on a volcano in the tropics), head down to coast and it will usually be sunny
- The pool is not heated, so it is cold in the winter. Hot-tub is perfect.
- There is a farmers market in Makawao on Wednesday's that has local organic produce


If you are wanting a different Maui experience, and are happy making most of your meals in your suite, and primarily want to relax and get refreshed, I can't think of a better place to stay in Maui.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olindaretreat, Manager at Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really do appreciate it! The 8 minute drive to our place from the town of Makawao is easier to get to if you print and follow the directions we email you. The Octagon is such a unique and cozy place, however for people staying longer or just wanting additional space we do recommend our Romantic Cottage or our Grand Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

My new husband and I spent our week-long honeymoon in Maui, 4 days upcountry and three days at a beach resort. Without question, the time spent in the upcountry at the studio on the grounds of The Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui were by far superior. It was absolute magic waking up in such a beautiful space, the surrounding windows open to the lush valley and ocean front beyond. The lovely sounds of birds, and the indescribable smell of the property were sensory experiences we will not soon forget! The space is small, but perfect and very functional. We ate breakfast and dinner every day on the property, making meals in the kitchen and enjoying them on the deck. It was a perfect place to be alone, and away from the bustle of the rest of the world. We took day trips to the surrounding beaches, drove the 'Road to Hana' and used Tom's Barefoot to book an amazing zipline adventure at the Piholo Ranch which is just a couple of miles away from the property. I think it is a wonderful "jumping off point" for exploring the eastern side of Maui. The nearby towns of Makaweo and Paia were by far my favorite on the island, filled with lovely people and cute unique boutiques a world away from the typical trinket shops more common near the resorts. In short, we would love to go back to this place, and as much as we enjoyed the studio, we might have to upgrade to the villa since we plan to bring back other family to share this lovely place!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olindaretreat, Manager at Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope that the memory of the smells and sounds are with you still, taking you back to your relaxing time in Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed here for the first 6 days of our honeymoon. It was a perfect way to start things off. Doreena was a wonderful host. The cottages are just spectacular, beyond words. And the view was stunning...we woke up every day in awe. We stayed in the romantic cottage and cannot do the place justice with words. It was clean, cozy, intimate, comfortable and just a dream. Our only very minor complaint was that the king sized bed was too soft and a little on the lumpy side. However, it's possible that if you like a soft bed, you'd find it just right. The tranquility of this spa's location is just breathtaking. The sunsets are better than you can dream. The pool and hot tub visits made us feel like we had our own private slice of heaven. We both had massages our first day and it was just heavenly. The perfect way to relax into our honeymoon. We would not hesitate to give this spa the highest recommendation to any one and we hope to be back as soon as possible. The only other caveat we have for visitors is its location. The winding road can be difficult until you get used to it and Makawao/Olinda is a little off the beaten path. While very close to the lively little town of Paia, it's a bit farther than other major locations. Still for this secluded gem, for this price, it was absolutely worth it. Better than staying on the beach for us, because of the absolute peace and quiet. You need a car in Maui anyway, so with quick drive a beautiful beach is never more than a 20 minute drive away at most! Thank you so much Doreena and all the staff at your spa. You made our first few days in Hawaii magical.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We have stayed at the Aromatherapy Foundation twice. Last year, my husband and I stayed in the romantic cottage during our honeymoon. We loved it so much that we came back this year with my parents, brothers and our new baby! This place truly makes you feel that some places on earth are closer to heaven. Its located upcountry, far from the beautiful, but more touristy beaches, the air is cooler and mistier, there are rolling pastures and white horses, shimmery rainbows, walking forests, lavender farms, ranches. The foundation is perched on the side of the volcano, just a few miles north of the charming, cowboy chic village of Makawao. Roosters begin the chorus of animals that wake you each morning, greeted with a sweeping view of the island, ocean on each side, perfect for enjoying a cup of coffee and deciding which part of the island to explore each day. Tom and Doreena are wonderful, genuine hosts, accompanied by their fluffy little pooch, Cujo. The accomodations are artfully and lovingly decorated, with state of the art kitchen, private swimming pool, access to fragrant gardens with lemon trees, wonderful flowers and hidden sculpture. The value is tremendous for the caliber and luxury of the quarters. The romantic cottage is perfect for a couple (there was even a mother-daughter staying there while we were there) and the grand villa is amazing for a group of friends/extended family etc. The whole experience is so wonderful, transporting and magical, that you will likely be searching for real estate by the time you leave!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui

Address: Villa & Cottages, Olinda Road, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768 (Formerly known as Olinda Retreat & Spa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Discover Aroma' at the Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui's aromatic botanical educational estate and farm. Our registered 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization provides more than just a beautiful place to stay but equally important provides you with an educational opportunity to experience the world of aromatherapy on an aromatic botanical teaching farm. The prestigious upcountry Villa, Cottage and Studio with magnificent views of Maui and the surrounding oceans are located on an aromatic botanical plantation, just twenty-five minutes from the airport and the North Shore beaches. The majestic views and fresh mountain air at 3000 feet distinguish this private sanctuary from the usual tourist facilities on the 'Valley Isle'. 'Discover Aroma' Program includes: * Overnight accommodation at the Grand Villa, Romantic Cottage or Octagon Studio.* Access to explore and learn from our Beauty & Wellness Teaching Gardens.* Use of the in-house diffuser and essential oil set to explore fragrant and healthy essential oils as a tool for emotional and physical well-being.* Free attendance to a scheduled on-property Aromatic Distillation Demonstration. * An exciting opportunity to participate in our 5-minutes per day Scientific Survey, recording your specific impressions of Lavender (Lavendula angustifolia) essential oil while sitting quietly. * Use of the Introductory Aromatics Course providing a well-rounded introduction to the benefits and pleasures of aromatherapy.* Use of the books in the Aromatherapy Lending Library.* Special pricing for Aromatherapy Massage and Body Care application sessions.Nestled on the west facing slopes of Haleakala this Upcountry Estate evokes a unique sense of peace, serenity and privacy. Just down the hill, provisions, great restaurants and shopping are available in the village town of Makawao. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aromatherapy Foundation Of Maui Hotel Makawao
Aromatherapy Foundation Of Maui Makawao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.