We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful resort, unique amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lumeria Maui Retreat

Save Saved
You added Lumeria Maui Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lumeria Maui Retreat
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Makawao
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful resort, unique amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Lumeria is a magical place! The grounds are stunning, the staff is incredibly kind. All of the classes and service providers were awesome. I had a massage by Cindy- I highly recommend requesting her. Breakfast was lovely and satisfying. It was nice having access to tea all day. If you have a chance to take a class with Evie- its a must! For anyone wanting a break from their routine or a beautiful retreat- this is the place!

Room Tip: (no room service) We had a great room in the courtyard- 3B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Front Office Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Meant2BeEvents,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Lumeria Maui! We're so glad you enjoyed your massage with Cindy, class with Evie and our breakfasts! We hope to welcome you back to Lumeria in the future.

Mahalo & Aloha,

- Tina Klapperich
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    11
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
64
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a lovely place. We were lucky to stay at the end unit that facing the swimming pool. All the staff were very friendly, especially Scott who accommodated our schedule and taught us hot yoga (the best that i've ever experienced). The restaurant offered great food, so fresh and tasty and not expensive compare to other high end restaurant which offers same quality of food. The waitresses were so polite and treat us very well. The only recommendation for this resort is the sound proof between rooms. While we were having great family time (about 9pm) in my room playing card game with my kids, we heard a knock knock on the wall from the next door and I don't think we were loud as we noticed the whole resort setting was so 'zen' and quiet. So we end up have to stop and go to bed early. Other than this, we like the place and the staff. Thanks Janice for arranging the wine tasting event and a speech from the legendary big-wave surfer, Archie Kalepa. That was so fantastic! We all had a great time at the resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our whole family loved Lumeria. The staff is so friendly and the resort is beautiful, charming and very relaxing. It's 10 minutes from Paia which is a fun hippy chic little town with great food and shopping. Beaches are great for family activities and surfing. And, for yoga lovers it's perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice - we preferred the larger suite 1D.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The moment I walked onto the property, I relaxed--a great feeling after a 12 hour flight from New York City. Lumeria is unlike any place I've ever stayed; its luxury surrounds you, but instead of imposing some set of fancy hotel guidelines on you, it allows you to define for yourself what would make you feel restored and rejuvenated. It is a place with a deeply personal touch. For me, Lumeria felt like a sanctuary. Yoga? They've got fantastic classes every day. Massage? I had a lomi lomi that alone was worth traveling to Maui for. Lounging by the pool? The saltwater pool and jacuzzi is pure tranquility, as is the hammock forest (you have to see that for yourself! It was my favorite place on the property). Lumeria is "upcountry", which means the beach is a 15 minute drive, but it's a gorgeous one, and the location is very convenient to shopping in the towns of Paia and Makawao. All the food is sourced from local farmers, and is both healthy and delicious. From the property you can see down to Maui's north shore, and south/west shores in a panoramic view. It is very convenient to get down to the road to Hana, too. After discovering Lumeria I would not stay anywhere else on Maui.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Public Relations Manager at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed all of the great things Lumeria Maui has to offer and that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo and much Aloha,
Lumeria Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The grounds are indeed lovely and the breakfast was above average. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub and experienced the staff we met as friendly and helpful. That said, we booked a dinner on site one evening and it was, at best, mediocre. I was unable to finish mine. It wasn't bad so much as bland. The "sea-view room" we booked was well appointed and the bed comfortable but I would be hard pressed to say we had a view of the sea. Two of the four mornings we woke to the voice of a man having a loud cell phone conversation outside of our room and both times we sat at the pool we were forced to listen to others' cell phone conversations (I would suggest designated cell phone areas where guests are free to use their phones without disturbing others). Afternoon yoga classes were cancelled on two of the four days we were were there. The housekeeping is kept to a bare minimum (bathroom counters, for instance, were not wiped every day so we cleaned our own, which were dark so every spot showed). The roosters were adorable the first night but they started cock-a-doodle-doing every morning around 3:30. We were on the road side of the property so traffic could be loud, especially in the afternoons. And we were witness to at least two tense conversations between people we assumed were managers and font line staff. These all seem like minor complaints and in many ways they are, except to say the room was expensive. We expected more.

Room Tip: A room on the side of the courtyard farthest away from the road may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Owner at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Janice A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lumeria Maui. We’re so glad that you enjoyed the property, breakfasts and staff! However, we were very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay. We take the guest experience of Lumeria Maui very seriously, and we’re always looking for ways to improve. We take all constructive criticism into consideration, and we will address of all your feedback points as opportunities for improvement. First of all, we’re sorry to hear that your dinner experience wasn’t positive – we receive many compliments on our dinners and work to plan menus that appeal to different culinary preferences. We will review your comments with our Chef to make sure this doesn’t happen again. We will also review our room classifications to correct any mistakes in terminology. During the holiday season, unexpected changes do occasionally occur. Our yoga classes are so rarely cancelled; unfortunately, while you were here, there were two holiday class cancellations. We deeply apologize for any inconvenience. Furthermore, since your review, we have reviewed and addressed housekeeping standards. It is our policy to go into and clean every room, every day. Occasionally, a room is skipped if its occupants are inside. Beginning next week, we will institute the use of “Room Service” cards to make sure that all rooms are cleaned every day. We’ve removed the roosters that had wandered on to our property so that they don’t disturb other guests. We love your suggestion of designating “cell phone zones” so that folks can freely use their cell phones without disturbing other guests in quiet areas, and we will work on designating these areas in the coming weeks.
Again, thank you for your comments and suggestions. We will take steps to resolve all of the issues you brought up in your review. We hope that you will give us a chance to make these changes, and will come to stay with us again.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Xorin Balbes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Spent eight days and it was not near enough. Escape from the world, NO TV, no internet, no phone (cell phones do work). We did yoga daily, all on the grounds, mediation, spa, yogis.
The food was wonderful, because the have a Chef right there. She made food I had never heard of or could pronounce. Everything seemed like it was 15 min away.

Room Tip: 1. Get a room on court yard side it is cooler in the evenings 2. Stay away from the parking lot sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I wish I'd read the lower scoring reviews before booking what was supposed to be the restorative and relaxing part of our visit to Maui. The positive reviews are mostly from people who have visited as part of a group or have the benefit of staying in the 'sea view' rooms.
Yes, the place is beautiful and the quality of food is good but it is not a well run retreat for individuals or couples.
If you're not part of a group (i.e. on a tour being run by someone else) then it does not feel like a retreat at all. On arrival we received no information about how to get lunch, dinner, access classes etc.The classes are more limited than what appears on the website and the rooms close to the dining and yoga area are very noisy and do not feel private. The fan in our room was also very slow and didn't cool the room quickly enough in the evening so we had the worst nights sleep during our 2 week of travels at Lumeria.
I'd love to give Lumeria a higher rating but we paid for retreat and what we got instead was very far removed from that. Book here if you're happy to take a chance....your happiness cannot be guaranteed!

Room Tip: Only book if you can get an ocean view room which are on the quiet side of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumeriaMaui808, Owner at Lumeria Maui Retreat, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Lena,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lumeria Maui. It is feedback such as yours that helps us improve the guest experience at Lumeria Maui. We were very disappointed to read about your experience with us, and we wish you had brought some of the issues you had to our attention while you were here, so that we could have had a chance to rectify them. All of our guests receive a class schedule upon arrival, and all of our rooms are equipped with guest information binders which contain details such as dining, booking tours, activities and massage services. We wish you would have brought the problem with your fan to our attention too; the fans have different speeds, and we would have appreciated the opportunity to help you or to move you into a different room if necessary.
While we deeply appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us, we wish you might have given us the chance to resolve the issues you had while you were here, so that you could have had a different, much more enjoyable experience at Lumeria Maui.
We sincerely hope that you might give us another chance, and stay with us again in the future.
If you would like to communicate with us further, please don't hesitate to call us at (808) 446-8827.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Xorin Balbes
Owner
Lumeria Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lumeria Maui Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumeria Maui Retreat

Address: 1813 Baldwin Ave, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lumeria Maui Retreat 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lumeria Maui, an educational retreat experience that will feed your body, mind and soul while connecting you with the authentic rhythm of Maui island. We offer a nourishing living campus of relaxing beauty for individuals and groups with daily classes and programs in yoga, meditation, healing arts, water sports and much more. Accommodations are included with all classes and programs. Relax, rejuvenate and connect with your unique self as you open your mind and feed your body and spirit. Immerse yourself in one of our signature programs - yoga and or detox/cleanse - inspiring a life in balance. Located on Maui's north shore, our restored historic buildings-with island and ocean vistas-have been designed to envelop you in an intimate, authentic environment. We encourage you to wander through our beautiful organic gardens, which supply our farm-to-table dining and our signature Lumeria Detox-Cleanse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Lumeria Maui Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumeria Maui Retreat Makawao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumeria Maui Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.