We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spreading the Snuba Love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Snuba

Shoreline Snuba
175 Ulana Street, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768
808-281-3483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 activities in Makawao
Type: Water sports
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spreading the Snuba Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I had a great experience with Shoreline Snuba! Neither of us had ever been snuba (or scuba) diving before and were eager to explore and go a step further than snorkeling. Shoreline Snuba was a great choice! We were staying at Honua Kai off Ka’anapali Beach and Shoreline Snuba was available right off the beach of our resort and many others. They also provide daily pool side demonstrations at these locations. If you have never been snuba before, I highly recommend that you try it and also take advantage of the demonstration first. That way when you sign up for your excursion, you’ll already know what the respirator feels like and you’ll be ready to enjoy your dive!

I believe they usually book dives with 2-8 people, there were four people in our group. This was great because it allowed our Snuba pro, Demetrius, to give us personalized attention. If you would like to try snuba off a boat, Shoreline Snuba is also available through some of the top rated snorkel trips in Maui (check their website for details).

Our excursion began with introductions to the respirator. It was a little awkward at first but once you remember to take deep breaths through your mouth, and get use to the bubbles from the respirator, it's easy to relax and enjoy your underwater experience. Demetrius also helped us with equalizing our ears which was actually very easy (similar to being on a plane). They also have wet suits available. Take my advice and use the suit; when you’re supposed to be concentrating on your breathing and equalizing your ears, the last thing you want to be worried about is your bathing suit moving around (ladies especially) and whether or not you’re warm underwater.

Next step was to get into the ocean! Although Shoreline Snuba was available off the beach by our resort, we decided to explore a different area by the Sheraton. Our snuba dive was near Black Rock…and it was AMAZING! Demetrius was a great instructor and made sure everyone felt comfortable. When I had a difficult time moving under water, he helped to pull me closer to the reef so I could see the amazing sea life…colorful coral, beautiful fish, peaceful honu’s (sea turtles) and a shy moray eel. Demetrius was also documenting our dive with an underwater camera. I've attached my favorite photo to this review. I could have stayed under water even longer but alas, oxygen tanks only last so long ;)

We will definitely be trying snuba again, we’re hooked! Mahalo Demetrius and Shoreline Snuba for a wonderful time and a memorable experience. Aloha ‘oe!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorelinesnuba, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Snuba, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Great photo! We're always happy to hear we've made another fan of SNUBA and the sea life that it can introduce you to! Enjoy Maui and we hope to see you again soon, Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    4
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Shoreline Snuba with Willie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Came to Maui on our Honeymoon. Never SNUBAed before. It was awesome. You have to try it. We were a little nervous at first but Willie walked us thru all the steps to make us feel cool, calm and at ease. We would do it again in a heartbeat!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorelinesnuba, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Snuba, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha Richard! We're glad you got to experience SNUBA on your honeymoon (congrats!) and to hear that you had such a positive experience! Mahalo for choosing Shoreline!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING TIME doing SNUBA!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

SNUBA with Nick was amazing!! TIME OF MY LIFE!! thanks so much!! 5 star rating for this!! Does cost extra but TOTALLY with it!! Will defiantly be doing this again!! Recommended to everyone visiting Hawaii!! Was nervous being my first time in the ocean but Nick handled everything and made everything perfect!! GREAT PEOPLE AND SERVICE!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorelinesnuba, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Snuba, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks Brandon; we're glad we could be part of this amazing experience for you! Hope to see you again! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We grabbed a taxi from the cruise ship pier up to the Sheraton Maui at Ka'anapali beach for about $15 and a 15 minute drive. Located C.J. At the Snuba desk, filled out the waiver etc and my son (22 yrs) and I got suited up in our wetsuits and learned all the necessary safety rules and underwater codes then headed out into the waters around Black Rock. We saw several varieties of fish, beautiful corral and a couple of turtles. C.J. was an excellent guide, always one step ahead of everything and totally in tune with how everyone was doing. At one point when my mask got water in it and I started getting a bit tense, C.J. Had me on the surface in what seemed like one second flat. We felt very confident in C.J.'s skills at all times.

I would highly recommend taking the package, the DVD is full of amazing underwater shots of us and all the sealife. For the price of a game of golf or Pro sports game, we had an experience we will always treasure, definitely well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorelinesnuba, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Snuba, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for joining us on a SNUBA adventure! We're so glad you enjoyed your time visiting the underwater world and shared your experience. Many mahalos!

Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our kids, age 7 & 10, tried the free snuba lesson at the Hyatt Resort and signed up right away. We had to follow Jeremiah to the Westin Villas farther down the road as the conditions were not great at Black Rock that day. Once we got there, Ryan, our guide, went over the safety instructions with the kids. Ryan made sure the kids had a positive, fun experience. The picture CD was also awesome! The kids had a great time that now they want to learn how to scuba. Thanks Ryan and Shoreline Snuba!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorelinesnuba, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Snuba, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Aloha Eleanor! We are glad to hear your kids enjoyed SNUBA! We are always striving to share our love for the ocean, so it's great to hear you've got a couple of new divers in your family! We hope to see you on Maui again soon!

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Shoreline SNUBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoreline Snuba also viewed

 

Been to Shoreline Snuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Snuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shoreline Snuba to your Saves list